Windows XP Antivirus Options.

Discussion in 'Windows XP Security' started by usingh066397, Apr 16, 2021.

  1. usingh066397

    TMTGTR

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2021
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    New York
    If you like MBAM, it still works and updates on XP.

    "...Malwarebytes support for legacy Windows XP and Vista Operating Systems Malwarebytes 3.5, will continue to support legacy Windows XP and Windows Vista at the same level as we had with earlier 3.x releases. In order for Malwarebytes to better support these legacy operating systems we’ve designed Malwarebytes 3.5 with special compatibility features to allow on-going protection updates and other maintenance upgrades via a separate development track..."

    Some long reading on details:

    https://forums.malwarebytes.com/topic/286840-mbam-221-no-definitions-updates-after-may-19/page/4/

    The skinny:
    I had/have the free version. I don't think I used or needed the clean tool, (can't remember) I think it's for uninstalling paid versions(?) but if you use a licensed version make sure you have your lic# before cleaning!
    mbam-clean-2.3.0.1001.exe
    downloads.malwarebytes.org/file/mbam_clean

    I installed: mb3-setup-legacywos-3.5.1.2522-1.0.365-1.0.5292.exe
    https://downloads.malwarebytes.com/file/mb3_legacy

    The slight down side is it also installs as a service which loads on automatic. I changed it to disabled and only start it when I run a scan.

    I used it on two 'puters yesterday; checked the downloads just now, working.
     
    TMTGTR, Dec 11, 2022
    #21
    xperceniol likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  2. usingh066397

    xperceniol

    Joined:
    May 24, 2022
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    173
    Thank you!

    FWIW ... I was able to update both the rootkit and main database tonight as you can see for:

    https://www.bleepingcomputer.com/download/malwarebytes-anti-rootkit/
    https://downloads.malwarebytes.com/file/mbar/

    MBAM V1.10.3.1001
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2022
    xperceniol, Dec 12, 2022
    #22
    1. Advertisements

  3. usingh066397

    ArcticFoxie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2022
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    37
    Some of the folks at MSFN use one called WiseVector StopX.

    You have to delay computer activity for a minute or two on startup because everything from Notepad++ to MS Paint to Firefox to Chrome will lock up if you attempt to launch them while the WiseVector StopX engine/service is still initializing. I also didn't have any luck with this on 2 GB RAM computers but seems fine on 4 GB RAM computers.

    You will have to setup "allow" rules for Basilisk/Serpent else it will lock up on launch.
    "St52" is the only roytam1 browser I tried with it.
    Mozilla browsers have always required very strange "rules" for parent-based firewalls like Comodo and WiseVector StopX.
    It did not throw any alarms/notifications for 360Chrome v13.5.

    wise.png
    360chrome-basilisk.png
     
    ArcticFoxie, Dec 12, 2022
    #23
    xperceniol likes this.
  4. usingh066397

    xperceniol

    Joined:
    May 24, 2022
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    173
    ^I tried this last month and I'm sorry I didn't report back, but took 3 times as long to start up and wasn't worth it. Currently, don't use any "real-time".
     
    xperceniol, Dec 13, 2022
    #24
  5. usingh066397

    ArcticFoxie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2022
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    37
    I don't use it either. I prefer to NOT use ANY anti-virus.
    I tried it ONLY to prove to myself that it does NOT cause 360Chrome to crash.
     
    ArcticFoxie, Dec 13, 2022
    #25
    xperceniol likes this.
  6. usingh066397

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,805
    Likes Received:
    699
    Location:
    Florida
    TMTGTR, you do not have to disable MBAM, you can just set to manual, that way it will update when you use it rather than doing so automatically.
     
    Elizabeth23, Dec 14, 2022
    #26
  7. usingh066397

    TMTGTR

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2021
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    New York
    I know, but if I recall black viper says services in manual will take a tiny bit of memory compared to disabled. I may be wrong...
     
    TMTGTR, Dec 18, 2022
    #27
  8. usingh066397

    legacyfan

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2022
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    46
    avast seems to be the best option now they even announced last year that support will continue for it even after other antivirus said to upgrade to windows (including on so SP3)
     
    legacyfan, Dec 19, 2022
    #28
  9. usingh066397

    xperceniol

    Joined:
    May 24, 2022
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    173
    I wish avast would work without "real-time". Sad to say, its a 'no-gp' for me, might be for others here :)
     
    xperceniol, Dec 20, 2022
    #29
  10. usingh066397

    Borg

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2021
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    19
    No, its NOT. It depends on service state (running or stopped).
    Manual means service is not started, but it might start when other service or application requires it. So it means faster boot (a bit).
     
    Borg, Dec 22, 2022
    #30
  11. usingh066397

    xperceniol

    Joined:
    May 24, 2022
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    173
    Well ... its not for the 'faint of heart' and I don't recommend anything that people aren't comfortable with.

    But these are the ONLY services I have set to Automatic.

    [​IMG]
     
    xperceniol, Dec 22, 2022
    #31
  12. usingh066397

    xperceniol

    Joined:
    May 24, 2022
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    173
    These are what I have disabled and other are manual.

    [​IMG]
     
    xperceniol, Dec 22, 2022
    #32
  13. usingh066397

    xperceniol

    Joined:
    May 24, 2022
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    173
    Comodo

    [​IMG]
     
    xperceniol, Dec 22, 2022
    #33
  14. usingh066397

    xperceniol

    Joined:
    May 24, 2022
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    173
    Does anybody know if I can safely disable the following:

    ~Schedule (I don't schedule anything)
    ~termsrv (I disable this service)
    ~Wlballoon (I also have balloons disabled)

    Thank you in advance :)

    -Sal
    [​IMG]
     
    xperceniol, Dec 23, 2022
    #34
  15. usingh066397

    MisterEd

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2022
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    31
    My biggest problem is my two computers with Windows XP have CPUs that don't support SSE2. The problem with most anti-virus programs that work on Windows XP is that they require SSE2 support. Any suggestions for an anti-virus program that doesn't require SSE2 support?
     
    MisterEd, Jan 14, 2023
    #35
    xperceniol likes this.
  16. usingh066397

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,805
    Likes Received:
    699
    Location:
    Florida
    Elizabeth23, Jan 15, 2023
    #36
    xperceniol likes this.
  17. usingh066397

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,805
    Likes Received:
    699
    Location:
    Florida
    I am still using 360 total security by qihoo, but it does not work for 64bit
     
    Elizabeth23, Jan 15, 2023
    #37
    xperceniol and cornemuse like this.
  18. usingh066397

    xperceniol

    Joined:
    May 24, 2022
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    173
    Thank you, Elizabeth ... hope all is well.

    As I stated, please don't follow what I do with my services and I've decided to leave what Comodo detects as default as to stay that way. I disabled a lot or set to manual what others might need. Very very slim XP here and no "Real-Time" that I see others are needing.
     
    xperceniol, Jan 15, 2023
    #38
  19. usingh066397

    xperceniol

    Joined:
    May 24, 2022
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    173
    Do you mean for "real-time" security? MBAM and MBAR should run fine and Quick Heal (All 3 are FREE for personal use) all should work, please keep us posted on how this is going and what you chose to run.
     
    xperceniol, Jan 15, 2023
    #39
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.