My copy of WindowsXP tablet edition is in English but some things are in Russian.

Discussion in 'Windows XP General Discussion' started by DK59, Aug 28, 2018.

  1. DK59

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,636
    Likes Received:
    258
    Location:
    Florida
    okay, I looked at the eye and there are disks 1 and 2 listed for tablets, they are both .iso's and once you boot to them , all should be installed, you should not have to install any thing from them.

    I am downloading them now and will take a look at the files, and get back to you.
     
    Elizabeth23, Aug 29, 2018
    #21
    1. Advertisements

  2. DK59

    DK59

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2018
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    2
    When I put in disc two it doesn’t act as a boot disk just as an usb
     
    DK59, Aug 29, 2018
    #22
    1. Advertisements

  3. DK59

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,636
    Likes Received:
    258
    Location:
    Florida
    okay, take the folder Components and move it to the c:/windows folder,
     
    Elizabeth23, Aug 29, 2018
    #23
  4. DK59

    DK59

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2018
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    2
    The i386 folder
     
    DK59, Aug 29, 2018
    #24
  5. DK59

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,636
    Likes Received:
    258
    Location:
    Florida
    nope just to the windows folder.

    EDIT: yes you are correct, the i386 folder. :)
     
    Elizabeth23, Aug 29, 2018
    #25
  6. DK59

    DK59

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2018
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    2
    Okay what’s next
     
    DK59, Aug 29, 2018
    #26
  7. DK59

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,636
    Likes Received:
    258
    Location:
    Florida
    Elizabeth23, Aug 29, 2018
    #27
  8. DK59

    DK59

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2018
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    2
    Okay I did everything, I updated ie, sp3, Windows updater, i386, but no programs for tablet edition will not install. No inkball, Windows journal either won’t install just says it requires the tablet pc components of the windows operating system which I’m guessing is the whole i386
     
    DK59, Aug 30, 2018
    #28
  9. DK59

    DK59

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2018
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    2
    DK59, Aug 30, 2018
    #29
  10. DK59

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,636
    Likes Received:
    258
    Location:
    Florida
    according to what I have read so far, when you boot to the first cd and you input your product key it should trigger the request for the second cd,

    otherwise you will end up with xp pro not the tablet edition.
     
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2018
    Elizabeth23, Aug 30, 2018
    #30
  11. DK59

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,636
    Likes Received:
    258
    Location:
    Florida
    reply 2, okay so reading further, you would have to make a single iso with the components folder NOT in the i386 folder but on the root with all the other main folders, still not sure about this as the trigger for all this is a proper tablet pc product key, there should be one on a coa sticker on your tablet.

    1. look in add/remove, with the box on top checked to show updates, do you have .net framework 1.1 and the .net 1.1 service pack installed?
     
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2018
    Elizabeth23, Aug 30, 2018
    #31
  12. DK59

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,636
    Likes Received:
    258
    Location:
    Florida
    Elizabeth23, Aug 30, 2018
    #32
  13. DK59

    DK59

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2018
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ok I did that but now it’s telling me open with but with what programs
     
    DK59, Aug 30, 2018
    #33
  14. DK59

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,636
    Likes Received:
    258
    Location:
    Florida
    when you extract the file (xp_install.cmd) from the .zip , move it to (inside) the components folder, and make sure the components folder is on the c: drive, then right click on the tablet .cab file and you should see "Install to ppc" select that and it should install the tablet programs.
     
    Elizabeth23, Aug 30, 2018
    #34
  15. DK59

    DK59

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2018
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    2
    It keeps telling me to open with what program
    Also what does ppc stand for
     
    DK59, Aug 31, 2018
    #35
  16. DK59

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,636
    Likes Received:
    258
    Location:
    Florida
    ppc is your tablet, what happens when you right click on the tablet.cab and choose install to ppc, should be a dialog box , and the dialog box is telling you to open with what program?
     
    Elizabeth23, Aug 31, 2018
    #36
  17. DK59

    DK59

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2018
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yes
     
    DK59, Aug 31, 2018
    #37
  18. DK59

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,636
    Likes Received:
    258
    Location:
    Florida
    what program options are you given, ?
     
    Elizabeth23, Aug 31, 2018
    #38
  19. DK59

    DK59

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2018
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    2
    Other programs:
    Internet explorer
    Firefox
    Notepad
    Paint
    Windows media player
    Windows picture and fax player
    Word pad
    Or browse
     
    DK59, Aug 31, 2018
    #39
  20. DK59

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,636
    Likes Received:
    258
    Location:
    Florida
    okay, I tried to install the cab file on my pc, to see what it needed and it said that it could not find the file Microsoft/ActiveSync/ceappmgr.exe so this is the one you want to use to open with, since it was not on the list, choose browse and search for this .exe file.
     
    Elizabeth23, Aug 31, 2018
    #40
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.