Dual booting Windows XP with Windows XP

Discussion in 'Windows XP Installation and Setup' started by Janice, Sep 6, 2019.

1. Janice

Janice

I have installed Windows XP Professional. Is it possible to install another XP Professional on a different partition of the same HDD, using a different ISO CD, to dual boot with the first installation - or is it a crazy idea :p

Last edited: Sep 6, 2019
    Janice, Sep 6, 2019
  2. Janice

WindowsXPforever

It is

WindowsXPforever, Sep 6, 2019
  3. Janice

Computer semi-expert

Computer semi-expert, Sep 6, 2019
    Janice likes this.
  4. Janice

Janice

I need a little more help. Above thread tells how to do it with 2 Hard Disks. I need to install the 2 XPs in the same HDD. I am good at partitioning but I have no experience with the Boot.ini file, never even seen it. So I need a little more explanation before I can attempt this.

Janice, Sep 6, 2019
  5. Janice

Elizabeth23

6. Janice

Janice

Elizabeth,

multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Professional" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect

The above is how the operating system is shown in the Boot.ini of my present OS. Looked at it in msconfig.exe. There are 2 differences between this and what is shown in the Computer semi-expert's post-see below. The two arrows < > around the 'Friendly name' are missing in mine and there is also the part 'noexecute=optin' which is found only in my Boot.ini. Can you please explain these?

multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(1)partition(1)\WINDOWS="<Windows from Dead Computer>" /fastdetect

Janice, Sep 7, 2019
  7. Janice

Computer semi-expert

Change the multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(1)partition(1) to multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2).

The rdisk parameter tells Windows which hard drive to boot from. The partition parameter tells it which partition on the hard disk to load from.

The arrows are not required. I just put them there to specify that it can be replaced with whatever you want.

Computer semi-expert, Sep 7, 2019