XP on UEFI BIOS

Discussion in 'Windows XP Installation and Setup' started by steampunk123, Dec 4, 2016.

  1. steampunk123

    steampunk123

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello
    I wanted to dual boot xp and 7 on my computer, but xp showed acpi bluescreen. I found out that I have to press f7 while it's showind up "press f6". When xp loaded all files, next blue screen said, that I have to check drive for viruses. On websites is written, that I have to change controller option to 'Compatibility' / 'IDE', but I cant find it in my uefi bios.

    my specs:
    Windows 7 Home Premium x64
    Intel Core i5 6500 3.20
    16 GB RAM
    2TB Hybrid + 250 GB HDD
    Gigabyte Ultra Durable Z170-HD3

    sry for my english.:eek:
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Dec 4, 2016
    steampunk123, Dec 4, 2016
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. steampunk123

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    3,341
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Florida
    You do know that xp has to be installed first on a dual boot with 7 and that xp cannot be installed on a sata drive without sata controllers.

    unless you have a floppy drive on the pc, the sata controllers will have to be slipstreamed onto the xp cd with N-lite.
     
    Elizabeth23, Dec 4, 2016
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. steampunk123

    steampunk123

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have already put the drivers onto iso and burnt it and still bluescreens wont let me into hard drive screens.
     
    steampunk123, Dec 4, 2016
    #3
  4. steampunk123

    steampunk123

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    i even formated the disc and still the same
     
    steampunk123, Dec 4, 2016
    #4
  5. steampunk123

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    3,341
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Florida
    https://www.lifewire.com/how-to-fix-stop-0x0000007b-errors-2624109

    read above, the stop error is saying the flash drive is not accessible and/or the harddrive, if the sata drivers have not been input properly onto the install iso.

    on the stop A5:


    from here

    ================

    you need to go the the pc manufacturer's website and see if there is an updated bios for the pc and install it, OR bypass the sata install in the bios and choose IDE. and use an install w/o sata controllers
     
    Elizabeth23, Dec 4, 2016
    #5
  6. steampunk123

    cornemuse

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2016
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    2
    Not sure about your mobo, but not all gigabyte (or other mfgs either), mobos will 'allow' one to even install XP anymore.

    (I had/have the same problem) -c-
     
    cornemuse, Dec 5, 2016
    #6
  7. steampunk123

    steampunk123

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    I set the sata mode to legacy and started XP installation with sata and ahci drivers. I pressed f7 when I was promped to and installaion continued and I successfully installed xp, but usb was not working properly, so I installed Asmedia USB driver from a original motherboard disc, rebooted and XP was not accepting any USB or PS/2 input anymore. So I decided to reinsall XP, but when I was booting he disc it was writing:"Press any key to boot from CD..." I pressed, but i freezed. I ried the disc on another comp, but there it booted and installed properly. So I decided o forma the XP HDD and then the XP install disc booted, so i pressed F7 when I was prompted to, set sata mode to legacy, but when it was writing: "Startting Windows..." I get a bluescreen, which says to me, that I have to turn of memory caching and shadowing in BIOS, but I can't find that in my UEFI BIOS.

    Is there a way how to prevent his error message different way?
    thx a lot.
     
    steampunk123, Dec 29, 2016
    #7
  8. steampunk123

    steampunk123

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    I successfully installed XP today and I have Internet and Audio driver installed, but I can't install AMD driver which has to be compatible with XP because on cd is written "XP". Driver Installer instantly crash when it's "Detecting Hardware" and usb driver exactly for XP writes to me that I have no USB hardware. USB ports can handle a mouse and keyboard, but no USB key and mouse wheel.

    I can't find anything for that AMD driver or the USB driver.
    help pls.
    thx

    By the Way I wrote this on XP.
     
    steampunk123, Jan 15, 2017
    #8
  9. steampunk123

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    3,341
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Florida
    How To Find Drivers For An Unrecognized Device

    1. Open Device Manager (Control Panel>System>Hardware>Device Manager)
    2. The hardware whose drivers are missing will appear as Unknown device, so it's easier to locate the device.
    3. Right click on the unknown device and click on Properties.
    4. Under the Properties window click on Details tab and select Device Instance Id from the drop down box.
    5. You should see a code similar to this

    PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_27DC&SUBSYS_30868086
    &REV_01\4&1E46F438&0&40F0

    6. The portion of the code highlighted in RED is the Vendor ID and the portion highlighted in GREEN is the Device ID. In this example:

    Vendor ID = 8086
    Device ID = 27DC

    7. Once you have obtained both the IDs, proceed to

    http://pcidatabase.com/

    There you can either search for the vendor from the vendor ID or directly get information about the device along with the vendor name by searching with the device ID.

    8. Then from there you can go directly to the hardware manufacturer's website and get the driver.

    let me know if I can help further.

    can you tell me the make, model and model number of your pc??
     
    Elizabeth23, Jan 15, 2017
    #9
  10. steampunk123

    steampunk123

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    untitled.JPG
    I think that ati radeon driver cant insall because windows doesn know what kind of adapter I have. It will crash when it is detecting hardware.

    And on pcidatabase.com I found that all devices are from Intel, bu when I searched for device, i returned with "No matches found for: "for example:A131"
     
    steampunk123, Jan 25, 2017
    #10
  11. steampunk123

    steampunk123

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    PC is configurated so I dont know if i does have some model number but here are details of machine: Untitled.jpg Untitled3.jpg
     
    steampunk123, Jan 25, 2017
    #11
  12. steampunk123

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    3,341
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Florida
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iK1bO0ICkWM

    is virtualbox a program you have installed??

    you can check the video above to see if you have installed properly

    and just to be sure are you looking for the ethernet adapter for xp or for win7?

    ===========

    https://www.google.com/#q=amd+vga+driver+for+windows+xp+64+bit

    above search page for amd vga drivers

    https://www.google.com/#q=ati+radeon+driver+for+xp

    above for ati radeon driver for xp

    please give me a little more detail on the driver you need so I can help research it.
     
    Elizabeth23, Jan 26, 2017
    #12
  13. steampunk123

    steampunk123

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Everything is working fine on win7, but on xp I cant install any driver from amd. It will crash when it's detecting my hardware all of them. I tried 4 different versions for my graphics card and every one has crashed. No message just turned off and there was nothing like amd or catalyst in taskmgr. And usb is not working too I can just use usb mouse and keyboard in two slots. In other slots it won't work. No usb keys or other things on usb. I need only these two drivers. I have internet and sound drivers insalled.
     
    steampunk123, Jan 26, 2017
    #13
  14. steampunk123

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    3,341
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Florida
    go to this site :

    http://support.amd.com/en-us/download/windows-legacy

    I will look for the usb drivers, but do the usb ports work ok when you are booted into win7 or do they not work for both OS??

    need some info on the usb drivers so I can try to find them. :)
     
    Elizabeth23, Jan 26, 2017
    #14
  15. steampunk123

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    3,341
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Florida
    Elizabeth23, Jan 26, 2017
    #15
  16. steampunk123

    steampunk123

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    usb ports are working well in win7. I cant just use them in xp. I installed some drivers for usb but none of them worked.
     
    steampunk123, Jan 27, 2017
    #16
  17. steampunk123

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    3,341
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Florida
    okay, did the graphics driver work??
     
    Elizabeth23, Jan 27, 2017
    #17
  18. steampunk123

    steampunk123

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    no sill the same. I noiced that progress bar freezes before crash. I will send youtube link how exactly it happens.
     
    steampunk123, Jan 27, 2017
    #18
  19. steampunk123

    steampunk123

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    steampunk123, Jan 27, 2017
    #19
  20. steampunk123

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    3,341
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Florida
    okay, does the amd catalyst download manager have to be used??

    can you just install the driver manually??
     
    Elizabeth23, Jan 27, 2017
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
  1. bigdog2662

    boot bios on an external monitor

    bigdog2662, Sep 29, 2012, in forum: Windows XP Installation and Setup
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    835
    bigdog2662
    Sep 29, 2012
  2. Vaserlan

    Help! BIOS virus - only Safe Mode works but ...

    Vaserlan, Oct 22, 2012, in forum: Windows XP Help and Support
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    953
    Vaserlan
    Oct 22, 2012
  3. gbonline

    Bios disabled serial ports show in device manager

    gbonline, Oct 23, 2013, in forum: Windows XP Hardware
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    704
    gbonline
    Oct 23, 2013
  4. Paul77

    Bios reconfig for SDD

    Paul77, Apr 7, 2014, in forum: Windows XP Help and Support
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    836
    Elizabeth23
    Apr 8, 2014
  5. Aunty Jack

    Tweak a DELL PC BIOS - amazing

    Aunty Jack, Jan 1, 2015, in forum: Windows XP Customization
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    1,121
    PJAmerica
    Feb 21, 2015
  6. dksellou

    White and black bar lines between bios screen and windows logo

    dksellou, Jun 21, 2015, in forum: Windows XP Help and Support
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    624
    Elizabeth23
    Jun 22, 2015
  7. barrelasus

    Problema ora bios

    barrelasus, Jan 7, 2016, in forum: Windows XP Help and Support
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    253
    Elizabeth23
    Jan 7, 2016
  8. priscus

    BIOS Update

    priscus, Aug 16, 2016, in forum: Off-Topic Forum
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    282
    priscus
    Aug 16, 2016
Loading...