where are device drivers???

Discussion in 'Windows XP Drivers' started by padyboy, Mar 31, 2013.

  1. padyboy

    padyboy

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    halifax, nova scotia, canada
    -from Dell

    Still fail to understand how this problem has arisen. First wipe/reinstall with this os disk worked as expected. Second wipe apparently failed. Why the difference? Must be the ghost in the machine, I guess.

    Will install sp3 as suggested. Hope it will work this time.
    If this os disk is faulty, what do I do then?

    Thanx, as always.
     
    padyboy, Apr 4, 2013
    #21
    1. Advertisements

  2. padyboy

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,636
    Likes Received:
    258
    Location:
    Florida
    when you reinstalled the second time, did you wipe all partitions and then install on a new c:, as maybe you installed windows twice on the same drive.

    I do not think the disc is faulty unless it was dropped or something.

    let me know how the install of sp3 went.
     
    Elizabeth23, Apr 4, 2013
    #22
    1. Advertisements

  3. padyboy

    padyboy

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    halifax, nova scotia, canada
    According to dban, I wiped the whole drive; "the total contents of the drive will be deleted". No question on partitions was mentioned. However, this seems the most likely possibility. I suppose I must have created a partition which was not wiped.
    I will now proceed with continuance of os install with sp3 file available.

    Hopefully I can report back with good news.
     
    padyboy, Apr 4, 2013
    #23
  4. padyboy

    padyboy

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    halifax, nova scotia, canada
    now what??

    I have successfully installed the first six driver files without difficulty.

    However, the network file, INPENUXP.cab, a "cabinet" file, is composed of many compressed files which apparently must be decompressed individually. I have no experience with cabinet files, do not know why the couldn't have used normal compression software like the first six files.

    It is asking for a folder in which to decompress these individual files.

    Perhaps not all of these files are required.

    One final step before install of sp3, I hope.
     
    padyboy, Apr 4, 2013
    #24
  5. padyboy

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,636
    Likes Received:
    258
    Location:
    Florida
    make a folder called dell on your c drive, or if there is one there already this is the folder you will decompress the files, done automatically.
     
    Elizabeth23, Apr 4, 2013
    #25
  6. padyboy

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,636
    Likes Received:
    258
    Location:
    Florida
    also go to start, right click my computer choose manage, choose disk management, this will show you each drive and how many and what the partitions are if there is more than one.
     
    Elizabeth23, Apr 4, 2013
    #26
  7. padyboy

    padyboy

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    halifax, nova scotia, canada
    Before this: I found a website which recommended the file R105478.exe for this purpose.

    So I should decompress all the cabinet files to the C:/ folder. Automatic? Seems to require manual decompression to me; but this is ok if it solves the problem.

    I am unclear as to what to do after that.
    Will check drives present though.

    Meanwhile, can I install sp3 at this point?
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2013
    padyboy, Apr 4, 2013
    #27
  8. padyboy

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,636
    Likes Received:
    258
    Location:
    Florida
    you can install at any point.

    the driver in your last reply is for internet connection and you need this
     
    Elizabeth23, Apr 4, 2013
    #28
  9. padyboy

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,636
    Likes Received:
    258
    Location:
    Florida
    if you had gone to the dell drivers and downloads page and entered your express service code, all the drivers you would need would be shown.

    there are lots of extra downloads which would just be bloatware.
     
    Elizabeth23, Apr 4, 2013
    #29
  10. padyboy

    padyboy

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    halifax, nova scotia, canada
    still not there

    I installed win xp sp3 without difficulty.

    I decompressed the cab file as you suggested; apparently this is just a manual, no driver here.

    I installed R105478 as instructed. Still no Internet connection. Message states that device software is missing; also in device manager. I don't understand this. Another site confirmed that R105478 is indeed the network driver file associated with Intel (R) PRO/100VE NETWORK CONNECTION, obtained from the Intel website.

    Is it possible there is a setting in BIOS which is causing this error?

    I don't know where else to look; perhaps this hd is shot??
     
    padyboy, Apr 5, 2013
    #30
  11. padyboy

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,636
    Likes Received:
    258
    Location:
    Florida
    look in device manager, network adaptor, what is the model info listed there?

    on the back of your tower, is there a green light next to where you plug in your internet connection line?

    are you on dsl?

    if there is no green light then the built in internet connection is no good, this happened on my dell dimension 3000, and I had to order another one from dell and install it.

    R105478 is the right download, if nothing shows under network adaptor in device manager, what does system properties say is the network adaptor installed?

    go to start, run, type in msinfo32, expand components, expand network and look through for your adaptor, what does it show is installed?
     
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2013
    Elizabeth23, Apr 5, 2013
    #31
  12. padyboy

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,636
    Likes Received:
    258
    Location:
    Florida
    look through the adaptor section towards the end, Mine says trendnet.
     
    Elizabeth23, Apr 5, 2013
    #32
  13. padyboy

    padyboy

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    halifax, nova scotia, canada

    -"device is working properly"
    -"software not installed"

    Also "network cable is unplugged". I have seen this before on computers with functioning Internet connection. Any significance in this case?
     
    padyboy, Apr 5, 2013
    #33
  14. padyboy

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,636
    Likes Received:
    258
    Location:
    Florida
    I did not realize that this was a wireless connection, go to control panel and look under network connections icon, what does it say? are there two connections, one for lan and one for wireless?

    Does your wireless router have any cd to install drivers? I have not worked with wireless before so I will check the dell page for your pc.

    one other thing, even though you downloaded the R driver from intel, Dell's drivers are specifically set for their pc's and you might want to install the one from the dell page, it is the second listing under the cab file one you already downloaded.
     
    Elizabeth23, Apr 5, 2013
    #34
  15. padyboy

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,636
    Likes Received:
    258
    Location:
    Florida
    http://www.dell.com/support/drivers/us/en/04/Product/dimension-5150x

    under input on this page is the dell Bluetooth wireless drivers, am not sure if you need these

    also go to start, control panel, administrative tools, service is the wireless service set to automatic , started?

    look further down on the network, adaptor listings, 802.11 is not the name I am looking for
     
    Elizabeth23, Apr 5, 2013
    #35
  16. padyboy

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,636
    Likes Received:
    258
    Location:
    Florida
    support.dell.com -> home user -> drivers & Downloads -> choose from list -> desktops -> dimension -> Dimension 5150/e510 -> choose XP -> Expand Network -> choose this one:


    Dell-Utility
    R138111.EXE (19MB)
    Optional
    1/3/2007
    Dr: 3.3.40 UI:8.1.55, A07
    Applies to:
    Dell Wireless 1450 (802.11a/b/g) USB2.0 Adapter
    Wireless 1450 (802.11a/b/g) USB2.0 Adapter
    Add
    Download File
     
    Elizabeth23, Apr 5, 2013
    #36
  17. padyboy

    padyboy

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    halifax, nova scotia, canada
    replies

    there two connections, one for lan and one for wireless?
    --only lan connection is listed

    Does your wireless router have any cd to install drivers? I have not worked with wireless before so I will check the dell page for your pc.
    --no cd accompanied this router, which functions with my other 2 computers

    also go to start, control panel, administrative tools, service is the wireless service set to automatic , started
    --"wireless Zero Configuration" set to started, automatic

    look further down on the network, adaptor listings, 802.11 is not the name I am looking for
    --only Intel Pro/100 ve network connection is only listing.

    Dell-Utility
    R138111.EXE (19MB)
    Optional
    1/3/2007
    Dr: 3.3.40 UI:8.1.55, A07
    Applies to:
    Dell Wireless 1450 (802.11a/b/g) USB2.0 Adapter
    Wireless 1450 (802.11a/b/g) USB2.0 Adapter
    Add
    Download File
    --downloaded, installed this file; still no change in device manager.



    At this point, I am asking myself why was this network connection working faultlessly before? No setup was required then.
    I am also confused that the network interface controller is also called an 'adapter'. I have a usb plug attached which apparently allowed this dell computer to access the internet wirelessly. I was told this 'adapter' was a requirement for wireless.
    :confused::(
     
    padyboy, Apr 6, 2013
    #37
  18. padyboy

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,636
    Likes Received:
    258
    Location:
    Florida
    Elizabeth23, Apr 6, 2013
    #38
  19. padyboy

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,636
    Likes Received:
    258
    Location:
    Florida
    Elizabeth23, Feb 17, 2016
    #39
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.