Repair install stuck in loop, help!

Discussion in 'Windows XP Installation and Setup' started by Chuck, Oct 6, 2013.

1. Chuck

Chuck

Hi folks, newbie here with a headache-inducing problem that I'm wondering if anyone could possibly help me with. I've been trying to do a repair install of Windows XP Home Edition SP1a, but it gets caught in an endless loop with a message saying set up is installing, then going to the Windows XP Home Edition logo and back to the set up message. It was only after a bit of Googling (on my brother's laptop, which I'm posting from!) that I discovered that I should have uninstalled service packs 2 and 3 first, although I must point out that I did foolishly unplug the computer during an early attempt, hope that hasn't proved fatal (as you can see, I'm no computer expert...). I've tried rebooting in various modes, looking up fixes to use with repair console etc. but to no avail.

Obviously a clean install isn't an option, since there are files on the computer which I haven't backed up... I just hoping they haven't been wiped out as it is. I any case, I would be eternally grateful if anyone could help me out.

Thanks,

Chuck

Chuck, Oct 6, 2013
  2. Chuck

Elizabeth23

here are instructions to burn a copy of Hiren's boot cd, with this in mini xp mode, you can back up your files to a cd or flash drive and then you will have to reinstall your OS.

Courtesy of Jose Ibarra
    Make yourself a Hiren's Boot CD which you can download from here:

http://www.hirensbootcd.org/download/

The ZIP file is large, so the download will probably take a little while to complete bit it is worth it. Then unzip the download to extract the Hirens.BootCD.ISO file that will be used to create your new bootable CD.

Creating a bootable CD from a .ISO file is not the same as just copying the .ISO file to a blank CD. You have to use software that understands how to burn a .ISO file to a CD to create a bootable CD.