No signal

Discussion in 'Windows XP Hardware' started by GalraKeith, Oct 15, 2021.

  1. GalraKeith

    GalraKeith

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2021
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I plug in the cables to my Windows XP I got a No signal on the monitor while the XP is running . I know the monitor works because I used it on my other XP. Could it be the power supply getting bad or is it be something else? and Graphic Card is good
     
    GalraKeith, Oct 15, 2021
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. GalraKeith

    red Guest

    have you checked the drivers ? maybe need updating
     
    red, Oct 16, 2021
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. GalraKeith

    GalraKeith

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2021
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do I check the drivers ?
     
    GalraKeith, Oct 17, 2021
    #3
  4. GalraKeith

    red Guest


    xp : 1/right click on "my computer", click properties 2/select hardware tab click on device manager, anything in yellow needs looking at
    long live xp :)
     
    red, Oct 18, 2021
    #4
  5. GalraKeith

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,690
    Likes Received:
    576
    Location:
    Florida
    also, you say it worked on a different xp, but how long ago? take a monitor that works now and see if it will work, if not it is the monitor.

    also if this is a desktop, then ensure that the power to the tower is on.

    since you say you can hear the fans and stuff, it could be the graphics card, if it was the power supply the pc would not come on at all.
     
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2021
    Elizabeth23, Oct 18, 2021
    #5
  6. GalraKeith

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,690
    Likes Received:
    576
    Location:
    Florida
    Elizabeth23, Oct 18, 2021
    #6
  7. GalraKeith

    ClippyBeer

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2019
    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    253
    Location:
    At the pub
    Machine model that doesn't work would be helpful too. Onboard graphics card/PCI, VGA/HDMI/DVI missing a lot of info that would help us help you.
     
    ClippyBeer, Oct 19, 2021
    #7
  8. GalraKeith

    GalraKeith

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2021
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here it is, Its runs but no display
     

    Attached Files:

    GalraKeith, Oct 21, 2021
    #8
  9. GalraKeith

    GalraKeith

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2021
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here's my other XP Same screen with display
     

    Attached Files:

    GalraKeith, Oct 21, 2021
    #9
  10. GalraKeith

    ClippyBeer

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2019
    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    253
    Location:
    At the pub
    Still not much to go on. I see you have an HP desktop but don't know the model. You haven't replied on whether it is VGA, HDMI or DVI. Could be a faulty cable, try swapping the video cable from the working one with the non-working one.
     
    ClippyBeer, Oct 22, 2021
    #10
  11. GalraKeith

    GalraKeith

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2021
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a VGA , Faulty cable you say? This monitor works with my other computer works fine!

    I just watch this video this guy having the same issue . But his worked.

    So I did all the steps what this guy did I turn off my xp unplug the power , take the cmos battery out and push in the power button hold it to drain all power out of it .

    After that I put in a new cmos in, plug in everything , I turn it on - It's still doing it. It Runs but no-signal. Do I have a Bad ram , motherboard or power supply ?
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2022
    GalraKeith, Feb 10, 2022
    #11
  12. GalraKeith

    GalraKeith

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2021
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    My ram looks like it missing a few gold stuffs could this been the issue? and here is the inside of my computer . What you you guys think ?
     

    Attached Files:

    GalraKeith, Feb 10, 2022
    #12
  13. GalraKeith

    Samir

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2021
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    HSV and SFO
    Check the resolution supported by the monitor and make sure you have 2x monitors set up and each has its proper resolution.
     
    Samir, Feb 13, 2022
    #13
  14. GalraKeith

    secpar

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2020
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    82
    1. Power off monitor. Remove power cord.
    2. Turn off computer. Remove power cord.
    3. Connect video cable from computer to monitor.
    4. Replace power cords on both.
    5. Turn on monitor.
    6. Turn on PC.

    Did this help?
     
    secpar, Feb 14, 2022
    #14
  15. GalraKeith

    GalraKeith

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2021
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    I used two different monitors still doing the same thing
     
    GalraKeith, Feb 15, 2022
    #15
  16. GalraKeith

    Samir

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2021
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    HSV and SFO
    Set all the screen resolutions to the minimum--640x480 or 800x600 or whatever. Did that help?
     
    Samir, Feb 15, 2022
    #16
  17. GalraKeith

    GalraKeith

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2021
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got No DISPLAY Just only saying No Signal
     
    GalraKeith, Feb 15, 2022
    #17
  18. GalraKeith

    GalraKeith

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2021
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    than it says Monitor going to sleep on both .
     
    GalraKeith, Feb 15, 2022
    #18
  19. GalraKeith

    GalraKeith

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2021
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here is my ram slot could this be the problem burn spots?
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Feb 15, 2022
    GalraKeith, Feb 15, 2022
    #19
  20. GalraKeith

    Kithylin

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2021
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Texas
    Your RAM and ram slot are both physically damaged and burnt. I don't know how but it is. Maybe it was forced in backwards some how or the system powered on without the ram fully seated. But the ram is likely completely dead now and the motherboard's ram sockets are probably dead too. Sorry to be the bearer of bad news but that's probably what it is. See if you can connect either a PEIZO beeper or actual PC Speaker to the motherboard's PC Speaker header (should be near where the power/reset/HDD-LED plugs go). If you turn it on and it just beeps at you and has no video then it's probably dead.
     
    Kithylin, Mar 1, 2022
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
Loading...