Following a Windows reinstall: Cannot access Router

Discussion in 'Windows XP Networking' started by Baldrick, Mar 9, 2018.

  1. Baldrick

    Baldrick

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi

    I wish I had found this XP Forum sooner. I should have guessed there'd be one and hopefully 'Networking' is the best forum heading to submit it under.

    My problem: Due to what is best described as a 'clogged up system' I've reinstalled Windows. I've done this before on my trusted XP machine and not had any problems but this time it's got me well beaten! I use this machine mainly for recording and editing music with software unsupported on later versions on Windows.

    With XP 'successfully' reinstalled (albeit graphics in low-res) I carefully set the IP Addresses back to what they were and Windows tells I am now connected to my 3Com USB Wireless Adapter and my signal strength is excellent. Despite this, I can not ping my router (198.162.1.254). All other household devices (wireless and cabled) are still working.

    As suggested elsewhere I've unchecked the "Enable IEEE 802.1x authentication for this network" box. This was following an initial error message after reinstall of "unable to find a certificate to log you on to the network". (Unchecking this box turned out to be the only way I could get "Status: Connected/Signal Strength: Excellent".)

    I have tried disabling the wireless connection and connected PC to Router using a cable (proven to work on another device) but still can not access my Plusnet Router (the one shown on the left, if it's of any use).

    I have also reinstalled 3Com and allowed the default wireless settings but can not get any connection to the wireless adapter.

    I am on the latest 3Com Driver for XP (May 2006).

    My connection status varies between "Signal Strength: Excellent. Status: Validating Identity" and "unable to find a certificate to log you on to the network"
    OR
    sometimes with "Enable IEEE 802.1x authentication for this network" unchecked I get "Signal Strength: Excellent. Status: Limited or no connectivity"

    I've an audit trail of everything I've so far tried during the past 3 weeks. I currently have "Status: Connected/Signal Strength: Excellent" with...

    C:\>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    .... Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : home
    .... Primary Dns Suffix .. . . . . :
    .... Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    .... IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . : No
    .... WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection 6:

    .... Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    .... Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 3Com OfficeConnect Wireless 54Mbps 11g Compact USB Adapter #2
    .... Physical Address. . . . . . . : (I've intentionally omitted this)
    .... Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . : No
    .... IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 198.162.1.250
    .... Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    .... Default Gateway . .. . . . . . : 198.162.1.254
    .... DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . : (I've intentionally omitted this)

    I can successfully ping myself (198.162.1.250) but nothing else including 8.8.8.8. However I can ping 198.162.1.250 from my laptop (as well as the Router on 198.162.1.254). I'm pretty certain there is nothing else on 198.162.1.250.

    I feel sure this is not a Router nor an ISP problem but I suspect a fundamental Windows setting for out going traffic within XP I've missed.

    Has anyone got any suggestions please?

    Regards
     
    Baldrick, Mar 9, 2018
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Baldrick

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,122
    Likes Received:
    89
    Location:
    Florida
    do you have your wireless set for windows to make your connection?

    when you connect with a cable can you ping then?
     
    Elizabeth23, Mar 9, 2018
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Baldrick

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,122
    Likes Received:
    89
    Location:
    Florida
    Elizabeth23, Mar 9, 2018
    #3
  4. Baldrick

    Baldrick

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    First of all, I seem to have made some typos quoting 198.162.1..... They should read 192.168.1... I'm not at home at the moment and will need to recheck what I said above when I get home in a few hours time.

    When you say do I have my "wireless set for windows", I'm not sure. Where is that done, please?

    "when you connect with a cable can you ping then?" No, ping fails to return anything on cable and wireless.

    I've looked at some of those google links but after a while I suffer from information overload. Those I've not looked at, I'll see if any of them are relevant.

    Many thanks.
     
    Baldrick, Mar 9, 2018
    #4
  5. Baldrick

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,122
    Likes Received:
    89
    Location:
    Florida
    Turning On or Off the Windows XP Wireless Network Management

    1. Go to the Windows Control Panel and select Network Connections.
    2. Choose the Wireless Network Connection.
    3. Right click, and select Properties.
    4. Click the Wireless Networks tab.
    5. On the Wireless Networks tab locate the “Use Windows to configure my wireless settings” check box.
      To use Windows XP, select this check box.
     
    Elizabeth23, Mar 9, 2018
    #5
  6. Baldrick

    Baldrick

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Clarification: Upon re-reading my original post I need to correct my 'typos' regarding IP addresses. I inadvertently stated 198.162.1.250 as my XP's IP address. It should have read 192.168.1.250 with my Router being 192.168.1.254.

    Here are some ipconfig and ping results...

    C:\>ping 192.168.1.254 my router

    Pinging 192.168.1.254 with 32 bytes of data:

    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 192.168.1.254:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    C:\>ping 192.168.1.250 my XP machine

    Pinging 192.168.1.250 with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 192.168.1.250: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.1.250: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.1.250: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.1.250: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

    Ping statistics for 192.168.1.250:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

    C:\>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : home
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection 6:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 3Com OfficeConnect Wireless 54Mbps 11g Compact USB Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . : I've left this blank for security reasons (not sure if I needed to)
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . : No
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.250
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . : I've left these blank for security reasons (not sure if I needed to)

    C:\>

    I CAN NOT ping my XP machine (192.168.1.250) from the Laptop as previously implied. Apologies for misleading anyone. Although I can ping 198.162.1.250 where ever that is.

    Sorry for any confusion.
     
    Baldrick, Mar 9, 2018
    #6
  7. Baldrick

    Baldrick

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    This was already checked, Elizabeth
     
    Baldrick, Mar 9, 2018
    #7
  8. Baldrick

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,122
    Likes Received:
    89
    Location:
    Florida
    To reinstall TCP/IP, follow these steps:

    1. From a Windows Explorer, navigate to My Network Places.
    2. Right-click and choose Properties.
    3. Select Local Area Connection, right-click and choose Properties. If the Properties windows is empty, reboot and start over.
    4. Click the Install… button, select Protocol from the list.
    5. Click the Add… button.
    6. Click the Have Disk… button.
    7. Type in or click Browse… to select the file C:\WINDOWS\inf\nettcpip.inf, click OK
    8. Select Microsoft from the left-hand list.
    9. Select Internet Protocol (TCP/IP) from the right-hand list.
    10. Click OK.
    11. Click Close.
    12. Reboot
    13. ========================= you might have to unhide protected files in Folder Options to see the inf folder in windows.


     
    Elizabeth23, Mar 9, 2018
    #8
  9. Baldrick

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,122
    Likes Received:
    89
    Location:
    Florida
    reply 2:

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2/SP3.

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands, each followed by the Enter key:

    Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults, type: netsh int ip reset reset.log

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults, type: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reboot the machine.

    let me know the results for this and the other reply
     
    Elizabeth23, Mar 9, 2018
    #9
  10. Baldrick

    Baldrick

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    1. From a Windows Explorer, navigate to My Network Places.
    2. Right-click and choose Properties.
    3. Select Local Area Connection...
    When I get to 3, I do not see Local Area Connection. I see the Network Connections window showing...
    LAN or High Speed Network
    .... Wireless Network Connection - Status: Connected...
    .... 1394 Connection - Status: Disabled... (which I previously actioned)
    .... 1394 Connection 2 - Status: Disabled... (which I previously actioned)
    Wizard
    .... New Connection Wizard
    .... Network Setup Wizard

    Have I misunderstood something?
     
    Baldrick, Mar 9, 2018
    #10
  11. Baldrick

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,122
    Likes Received:
    89
    Location:
    Florida
    Elizabeth23, Mar 9, 2018
    #11
  12. Baldrick

    Baldrick

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have executed the netsh commands

    netsh int ip reset reset.log (see attached)
    netsh winsock reset catalog
    .... Sucessfully reset the Winsock Catalog.
    .... You must restart the machine in order to complete the reset.


    rebooted

    which has resulted in "Signal Strength: Excellent / Status: Limited or no connectivity" and cleared out my IP Addresses and still shows I am connected to my 3Com Adapter
     

    Attached Files:

    Baldrick, Mar 9, 2018
    #12
  13. Baldrick

    Baldrick

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    I get that dialog box on "Wireless Network Connection Properties" and all 4 are checked
     
    Baldrick, Mar 9, 2018
    #13
  14. Baldrick

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,122
    Likes Received:
    89
    Location:
    Florida
    next run checkdisk

    in cmd prompt type in

    chkdsk c: /r

    press enter

    type Y for yes to run at restart, press enter, then exit and restart, checkdisk will run and it is a lengthy process depending on your disk size, if any errors are found, then run again, you can view report in event viewer/applications/winlogon

    ================

    there is a checkmark in internet protocol and click install, (even if it is already checked, you are going to reinstall, even if the checkmark is there, click install anyway.
     
    Elizabeth23, Mar 9, 2018
    #14
  15. Baldrick

    Baldrick

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    chkdsk up and running
     
    Baldrick, Mar 9, 2018
    #15
  16. Baldrick

    Baldrick

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm off to bed now (it's half-past midnight GMT Here) but here's the log from chksdk c: /r

    Checking file system on C:
    The type of the file system is NTFS.
    Volume label is Local Disk.

    A disk check has been scheduled.
    Windows will now check the disk.
    Cleaning up 4893 unused index entries from index $SII of file 0x9.
    Cleaning up 4893 unused index entries from index $SDH of file 0x9.
    Cleaning up 4893 unused security descriptors.
    CHKDSK is verifying Usn Journal...
    Usn Journal verification completed.
    CHKDSK is verifying file data (stage 4 of 5)...
    File data verification completed.
    CHKDSK is verifying free space (stage 5 of 5)...
    Free space verification is complete.

    36861142 KB total disk space.
    26043528 KB in 109753 files.
    58236 KB in 14343 indexes.
    0 KB in bad sectors.
    379674 KB in use by the system.
    65536 KB occupied by the log file.
    10379704 KB available on disk.

    4096 bytes in each allocation unit.
    9215285 total allocation units on disk.
    2594926 allocation units available on disk.

    Internal Info:
    20 1f 03 00 cb e4 01 00 41 ef 02 00 00 00 00 00 .......A.......
    d7 1a 00 00 04 00 00 00 72 14 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........r.......
    28 79 15 08 00 00 00 00 8c f5 fa a5 00 00 00 00 (y..............
    ae 5f 47 4b 00 00 00 00 0c 35 74 23 04 00 00 00 ._GK.....5t#....
    58 5c 49 b1 00 00 00 00 9a 29 58 de 05 00 00 00 X\I......)X.....
    99 9e 36 00 00 00 00 00 10 3a 07 00 b9 ac 01 00 ..6......:......
    00 00 00 00 00 20 92 35 06 00 00 00 07 38 00 00 ..... .5.....8..

    Windows has finished checking your disk.
    Please wait while your computer restarts.
     
    Baldrick, Mar 10, 2018
    #16
  17. Baldrick

    Baldrick

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    I will follow up this advice with a fresh mind tomorrow. Many thanks.
     
    Baldrick, Mar 10, 2018
    #17
  18. Baldrick

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,122
    Likes Received:
    89
    Location:
    Florida
    okay, your chkdsk was fine. sometimes running it will clear up minor issues. :)
     
    Elizabeth23, Mar 10, 2018
    #18
  19. Baldrick

    Baldrick

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Elizabeth

    I've spent a bit of time reinstalling TCP/IP today but still further forward. To summarise;-

    Starting with my manually entered IP addresses and with the 3Com Adapter recognised by Windows showing "Signal Strength: Excellent / Status: Connected"...

    netsh int ip reset netsh-ip-reset.log

    I discovered this sets "Obtain an IP address automatically" and clears out my addresses although it still shows
    "Signal Strength: Excellent / Status: Connected"

    upon reboot it picks up the changed settings and fails to find the 3Com Adapter...

    "Signal Strength: Excellent / Status: Acquiring network address"
    "The connection has limited or no Connectivity....."
    message appears and the Status changes to
    "Signal Strength: Excellent / Status: Limited or no Connectivity"

    I also selected the alternative method of reinstalling using the Wireless Connection Properties after reintroducing my IP Addresses but this didn't alter my settings at all after rebooting.

    "Signal Strength: Excellent/Status: Connected"

    To check my results I reran netsh int ip reset netsh-ip-reset2.log which had the same results as the first time.

    I have recorded my efforts in Resetting and Testing TCP-IP on 10 Mar 2018.txt I hope it's not to difficult to follow.

    Maybe you might spot something amongst all of this?

    Kind regards

    Rick
     

    Attached Files:

    Baldrick, Mar 10, 2018
    #19
  20. Baldrick

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,122
    Likes Received:
    89
    Location:
    Florida
    https://www.techspot.com/community/topics/windows-reinstall-cannot-access-router.244876/

    are you still getting any help at the above forum?

    after some more research, suggest try the following:

    Remove all the stored wireless network profiles and search for the network and enter the encryption key.

    reboot and see if it works now, if not then next:

    ipconfig /release

    ipconfig /renew


    in cmd prompt type the first, press enter, then type the second and press enter, check to see if working, make sure that the wireless zero configuration service is set to automatic in services also.

    have you done the follwoing?

    right click the current connection in Network connections and choose repair


    ===================

    when you reinstalled windows, exactly how did you do this and what does it say on the cd used as installed media, exactly please.

    =========

    also any warnings or errors in device manager?
    any errors in event viewer, need source and id number, please.
     
    Elizabeth23, Mar 10, 2018
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.