Do you use XP as a Main OS?

Discussion in 'Windows XP General Discussion' started by Jake1702, Jul 23, 2016.

  1. Jake1702

    flavallee

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2020
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Hillsborough county, Florida
    I used Windows XP Pro SP3 32-bit as a main operating system until security updates for it ended in May 2019.

    I now use it for testing purposes only in my Dell OptiPlex 980 minitower:
    Intel Core i7-860 2.80 GHz quad core processor
    16 GB DDR3-1333 RAM
    500 GB SATA2 hard disk drive
    NVIDIA GeForce GT 730 graphics
     
    flavallee, Sep 11, 2020
    #21
    1. Advertisements

  2. Jake1702

    Adamhull

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Yes, XP is bets OS
     
    Adamhull, Sep 16, 2020
    #22
    1. Advertisements

  3. Jake1702

    cornemuse

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2016
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    158
    What are you testing??
     
    cornemuse, Sep 16, 2020
    #23
  4. Jake1702

    stvpls

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2018
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    ITALY
    i dont have a main os but i use windows xp vista and 7 systems. (no w10 i hate it)
    dont be scared to use it after updates dude its not the end of the world, i had no problems even after half a decade out of support, just use it
     
    stvpls, Sep 24, 2020
    #24
  5. Jake1702

    rebornjumpman

    Joined:
    May 4, 2020
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    South Carolina, USA
    I run XP as my main OS on my old ThinkPad which I use pretty exclusively for writing and BBSing, but my in-laws gave me their old 2012 MacBook Pro for everyday use. On that I bounce between MacOS Catalina and Windows 7. At work I have to use Win10.
     
    rebornjumpman, Sep 25, 2020
    #25
  6. Jake1702

    stvpls

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2018
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    ITALY
    i feel you i tried win10, its crap, btw you should use that thinkpad more than for writing, rn im using a t30 with a 1.8p4 1gb ram xp pro, amazing machine, for online browsing office tasks wich is what it was made for, of course not made for intensive software
     
    stvpls, Sep 25, 2020
    #26
  7. Jake1702

    rebornjumpman

    Joined:
    May 4, 2020
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    South Carolina, USA
    Yeah, my ThinkPad is a T42 and it's great for what I use it for. I'm need to see how well it runs old games, but for writing and running a command prompt it's perfect.
     
    rebornjumpman, Sep 27, 2020
    #27
    69Duck69420 likes this.
  8. Jake1702

    69Duck69420

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I dual boot it with win10 and mostly use xp on my MSI GT70 with an I7 3840qm,500gb ssd and 1tb hdd, it's a little overkill but its cool. The graphics card can't be used in xp unfortunately but 256mb hd 4000 is fine for old games.
     
    69Duck69420, Oct 16, 2020
    #28
  9. Jake1702

    stvpls

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2018
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    ITALY
    i hope youre not using xp just for old games is a waste
     
    stvpls, Nov 9, 2020
    #29
  10. Jake1702

    Compaq_8200_Elite

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2017
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    14
    I use XP 64 and can duel boot into XP sp3. I use a Compaq Elite 8200 I7-2600 with 8GB ram. HP has XP-64 + XP sp3 drivers are available for download. MyPal 64 bit 28.15.0 appears to be the best browser including watching videos and going on Facebook.
     
    Compaq_8200_Elite, Nov 24, 2020
    #30
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.