Do you use XP as a Main OS?

Discussion in 'Windows XP General Discussion' started by Jake1702, Jul 23, 2016.

  1. Jake1702

    Jake1702

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hey guys!

    Do you use Windows XP as a normal everyday OS or as a sometimes dual-boot or a VM? (Virtual Machine).

    I use it as a Virtual Machine, but I might do a dual boot with my Windows 7 because the VM only gets like 1/4 of the CPU power and therefore can do less things at one time and can be slow sometimes.
     
    Jake1702, Jul 23, 2016
    #1
    cmccaff1 likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  2. Jake1702

    eatup

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2014
    Messages:
    1,184
    Likes Received:
    10
    That depends. Nowadays, it's pretty impossible to find a computer that has XP drivers.

    Anyways, to answer your question: My system is currently triple booting XP/Win7/Win8.1 (not inside VMs). I spend 95% of my time on XP.

    Why?

    I want raw computing power. A Skylake on Win10 (or 8.1) probably performs worse than my system on XP...
     
    eatup, Jul 24, 2016
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Jake1702

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,124
    Likes Received:
    430
    Location:
    Florida
    For me, XP is my main and only OS, :)
     
    Elizabeth23, Jul 24, 2016
    #3
  4. Jake1702

    cornemuse

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2016
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    97
    XP here too.

    You can find motherboards that will support XP, build your own, , , , (<-what I do)

    -c-
     
    cornemuse, Jul 24, 2016
    #4
  5. Jake1702

    Frattulman

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sweden
    OS X for me. I have an old pc with xp though (mostly keep it for old games). Also have xp in virtualbox.
     
    Frattulman, Jul 24, 2016
    #5
  6. Jake1702

    eatup

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2014
    Messages:
    1,184
    Likes Received:
    10
    Never saw the appeal of Apple. I have a Windows PC made in Japan (obviously the parts inside came from China, but the rest manufactured in Japan). Even says so on the sticker at the bottom. Best computer I've ever owned...
     
    eatup, Jul 24, 2016
    #6
  7. Jake1702

    Frattulman

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sweden
    I like HP.
     
    Frattulman, Jul 25, 2016
    #7
  8. Jake1702

    eatup

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2014
    Messages:
    1,184
    Likes Received:
    10
    My made-in-Japan computer. The keyboard is silky smooth:

    [​IMG]


    Going back to my Dell laptop made me realize how its crude keyboard (rubber springs) hurt my fingertips typing (compared to the Fujitsu above...)


    Why I like Fujitsu more than any other brand PC: Beside the defunct IBM PC's, Fujitsu is the only one on the world's fastest supercomputers list at spot #5:




    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2016
    eatup, Jul 25, 2016
    #8
  9. Jake1702

    eatup

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2014
    Messages:
    1,184
    Likes Received:
    10
    ^ Btw, you'll never catch me owning a Toshiba or VAIO. A Panasonic maybe, but not those two. Those aren't really "Japanese" companies. They only care about profits so they've lost their "Japanese" essence. Fujitsu on the other hand... is an innovator in computing. They've had convertible tablets for years before the iPad caught on...
     
    eatup, Jul 28, 2016
    #9
  10. Jake1702

    eatup

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2014
    Messages:
    1,184
    Likes Received:
    10
    Just to show u guys how f**ked up Win7+ are. I have a .NET program that reads enormous data from the HDD. I do a little house keeping once in a while to keep the data manageable. Haven't done a cleanup recently. "XYZ program has stopped working," says Win7. (And this only at the loading stage where it processes the enormous HDD data b4 program can accept user input.) I close it and attempt to restart the program... Same friggin msg shows up. Meanwhile, the same ".exe" works flawlessly in XP! :mad:


    This why I'll never own a computer that doesn't run XP. XP just works too good too fast to be given up for the shite OSes that came after it...
     
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2016
    eatup, Jul 29, 2016
    #10
  11. Jake1702

    priscus

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2016
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    46
    I had to re-read that post by cornemuse. First time round, I took it to mean building your own motherboard. That took me back to the 1970's, when, if you had a home computer, it was most likely because you had made it rather than purchased it.

    Not assembling items as per modern day PC building: it was soldering iron or wire wrap, etching your own PCB, and usually adopting some kind of card and bus system to modularise your construction.

    I enjoyed that era greatly. Had thought of building a similar thing, now in my retirement, but the extensive families of TTL type and CMOS chips that you created the glue logic from are not as widely available today.
     
    priscus, Jul 30, 2016
    #11
  12. Jake1702

    cornemuse

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2016
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    97
    $34.99 + shipping. One setting change in bios. install XP Pro. No floppies etc.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128696&nm_mc=AFC-C8Junction&cm_mmc=AFC-C8Junction-Skimlinks-_-na-_-na-_-na&AID=12087162&PID=5412144&SID=skim19619X769413X2f07b093ba11618e123747a3b765a081&utm_medium=affiliates&utm_source=afc-Skimlinks

    CPU was about $30, (Athlon). 4 gig ddr3 $15, (<-Frys Elec. 2x4 gig = $29.99)

    No case yet, spread out on the table right now. XPP-32 bit works fine, not tried -64 yet, , ,

    Last 'new' computer was a laptop 5-6 yrs ago.

    -c-
     
    cornemuse, Jul 30, 2016
    #12
  13. Jake1702

    priscus

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2016
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    46
    Are builders still finding XP drivers are being supplied for latest motherboards?
     
    priscus, Jul 30, 2016
    #13
  14. Jake1702

    Skeleton11223

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2016
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    H
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2016
    Skeleton11223, Aug 31, 2016
    #14
  15. Jake1702

    cornemuse

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2016
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    97
    Mobo box, printed on box: supports XP-Pro, , , , , quite a few marked thusly.

    $1.88 sata to ide adapter, use all those old ide hdd's, at least as fast as (pre sata) computers. Well, maybe not 'Cray' computers!! (<- I knew a kid when he was eleven yrs old got computer time on the "new" Cray computer at UC San Diego. His mom had to take him in at like 01:00 - 05:00 in the morning, , )

    (end rant) -c-
     
    cornemuse, Sep 1, 2016
    #15
  16. Jake1702

    cmccaff1

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2018
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    164
    Yes! It is still very capable as an everyday/main OS--I wouldn't put anything else on my old Pentium 4 PC.
     
    cmccaff1, Sep 14, 2018
    #16
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.