Bought a netbook mint 19.1 how do I restore XP

Discussion in 'Windows XP Installation and Setup' started by Aughey, Feb 15, 2019.

1. Aughey

Aughey

I am awaiting delivery of a Toshiba NB100 Netbook Atom N270 2GB 120GB HDD. The seller installed Mint Linux 19.1. I have no knowledge of this system. It was originally Windows XP so im reckoning the licence number will still be attached underneath. How do I restore XP? What about the drivers it requires? Thanks guys

Aughey, Feb 15, 2019
  2. Aughey

Elizabeth23

if the drive has been wiped then there will be no restore partition and to install xp you will need an installation cd or flash drive, also if you attempt to use the COA that is on the bottom of OEM machines the the install cd must be the exact OS that is on the coa, for example, if it says xp home then you can only use xp home oem cd. a retail cd will come with its own product key

Elizabeth23, Feb 16, 2019
  3. Aughey

Aughey

Thanks Elizabeth23. I was passing Cex store today and they had a Western Digital 120GB 2.5 HDD for £5. I also have a DVD with XP professional which has a COA sticker on the packet.So what I want to do now is use that blank drive and just keep the one with Linux 19 as it is. My problem is the drivers as I reckon just installing windows is the easy bit. I own a USB CD drive so if I find out how to change the Toshibas boot sequence I should be able to get XP professional onto the drive that way. Any info about the drivers I need would be much appreciated Thanks again.

Aughey, Feb 16, 2019
  4. Aughey

Elizabeth23

Elizabeth23, Feb 17, 2019
  5. Aughey

Lex24

I would go a step further than Elizabeth23 and suggest the following sequence with some firmware components included (as long as you can find them available for your specific machine):

1) Firmware updates
    2) Boot agent update
    3) CPU microcode update
    4) BIOS update

5) Chipset driver
    6) Graphics driver
    7) Audio driver
    8) Network driver

Lex24, Feb 17, 2019