Auto Reboots

Discussion in 'Windows XP Help and Support' started by okrobie, Dec 15, 2014.

  1. okrobie

    okrobie

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    I'm having a lot of auto reboots (crashes) on this new installation. They mostly occur when I am surfing, especially if I have several tabs open on Chrome. I was having the same problem on IE8. I haven't tried FireFox yet. Any suggestions? Thanks, Jim
     
    okrobie, Dec 15, 2014
    #1
  2. okrobie

    okrobie

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    What I am experiencing is the natural result of installing SP3 before I installed the HP patch. I have a HP pavilion with an AMD cpu. Is there a way to uninstall SP3 or do I have to do a complete re-install of the whole XP system? Thanks, Jim
     
    okrobie, Dec 15, 2014
    #2
  3. okrobie

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,849
    Likes Received:
    757
    Location:
    Florida
    https://support.microsoft.com/kb/950249?wa=wsignin1.0

    4 methods listed above on how to remove sp3, do not go online until you have it reinstalled along with the patch , then go to microsoft updates and get updated.

    https://onedrive.live.com/?cid=d7389b68b3a275ad

    above is my onedrive where I have uploaded the patch from HP if you still cannot get it, it is listed as sp37394

    Have you ever done a clean install before this time??

    I have links that give instructions if you need to check through the steps.

    Also, have you got all the necessary driver for your installation??

    look in device manager for any warnings.

    ==
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2014
    Elizabeth23, Dec 15, 2014
    #3
  4. okrobie

    okrobie

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    Thanks Elizabeth, I successfully uninstalled SP3, but then I tried to install the HP patch and it told me:

    "Your system does not meet the minimum requirements for this update. Update has been cancelled (9998)"

    My system is an HP pavilion a810n with an AMD Athlon 64 processor and XP SP2 installed. What else is required?

    Regards, Jim
     
    okrobie, Dec 15, 2014
    #4
  5. okrobie

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,849
    Likes Received:
    757
    Location:
    Florida
    from here

    ==
    http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=23751

    above is microsofts version of this patch, you might want to use this one.

    ===

    Didn't you say you did not use the recovery discs??
     
    Elizabeth23, Dec 15, 2014
    #5
  6. okrobie

    okrobie

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    One other thing, per your suggestion, I tried to do Windows Update using IE8 and it won't run. Keeps going to: "The website has encountered a problem and cannot display..."
     
    okrobie, Dec 15, 2014
    #6
  7. okrobie

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,849
    Likes Received:
    757
    Location:
    Florida
    that error is usually a connection problem, but you cannot get to microsoft updates BEFORE you install sp3, lets get sp3 installed first.

    please answer the questions in my last reply. thanks.
     
    Elizabeth23, Dec 15, 2014
    #7
  8. okrobie

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,849
    Likes Received:
    757
    Location:
    Florida
    ALSO, that error also seems to say that windows updates and the background intelligence services are not started, when you get sp3 installed, then you want to insure these are set to automatic.
     
    Elizabeth23, Dec 15, 2014
    #8
  9. okrobie

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,849
    Likes Received:
    757
    Location:
    Florida
    I have to leave for awhile will check back in an hour or so.
     
    Elizabeth23, Dec 15, 2014
    #9
  10. okrobie

    okrobie

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    Yes, it is true that I don't have the recovery disks. The only thing I have is a Windows XP Professional distribution disk.

    The Patch from Microsoft installed very well, and then I installed SP3.

    I was then able to install IE8. I tried to install updates, but it kept crashing.

    It is still crashing every few minutes.

    Where do we go from here?

    Thanks, Jim
     
    okrobie, Dec 15, 2014
    #10
  11. okrobie

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,849
    Likes Received:
    757
    Location:
    Florida
    are you getting an error message??

    do you have ie8 as the default browser??

    are automatic updates and BITS set to automatic??

    when you go to updates, do it from the start/allprograms/top of the box, you will see Windows updates, and if this works without crashing it will tell you you need to install an active x to update to Microsoft Updates.

    EDIT: is it just the browser crashing or the whole pc??
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2014
    Elizabeth23, Dec 15, 2014
    #11
  12. okrobie

    okrobie

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    Hi Elizabeth,
    No error message, just goes to a black screen and re-boots.

    IE8 is the default browser.

    Yes, we are on auto updates, but I don't know what BITS automatic is.

    I have been doing updates from the Control Panel link. I don't know how to install Active X

    The whole PC is what is crashing.

    Thanks for your help. Jim
     
    okrobie, Dec 15, 2014
    #12
  13. okrobie

    okrobie

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    I just ran MBAM as a stress test and it did the whole scan without crashing.
     
    okrobie, Dec 15, 2014
    #13
  14. okrobie

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,849
    Likes Received:
    757
    Location:
    Florida
    when you get to microsoft updates it will install the active x for you.

    shutdown the pc, restart and immediately start tapping F8, this will get you to the advanced boot menu, and click on Disable Automatic Restart this will allow an error screen to stay up on the pc.

    will check back in a few to see what the results of this step were.

    ==

    Bits stands for Background Intelligence service, and you would find it in services, go to the control panel, click on administrative tools , then click on services, double click on Background intelligence service and make sure it is set to automatic.
     
    Elizabeth23, Dec 15, 2014
    #14
  15. okrobie

    okrobie

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    Did what you suggested with BITS and DAR. Thanks, Jim
     
    okrobie, Dec 15, 2014
    #15
  16. okrobie

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,849
    Likes Received:
    757
    Location:
    Florida
    Elizabeth23, Dec 15, 2014
    #16
  17. okrobie

    okrobie

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    No, no bsod or error message. Just a re-boot and straight to the POST. I'll try the memtst later. I'm trying to run MBAM but it won't run for more than a minute without crashing.
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2014
    okrobie, Dec 15, 2014
    #17
  18. okrobie

    okrobie

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    Passed memtest86
     
    okrobie, Dec 16, 2014
    #18
  19. okrobie

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,849
    Likes Received:
    757
    Location:
    Florida
    does the pc crash, when you do not go online??

    look in event viewer and what events are logged for the crash times??
     
    Elizabeth23, Dec 16, 2014
    #19
  20. okrobie

    okrobie

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    Good morning Elizabeth, it doesn't seem to make any difference. It ran all night on a program that constantly chatters in FTP without a crash, but as soon as I launched MBAM (offline) it re-booted.

    I don't know about the event viewer. How do you access it?

    Thanks, Jim
     
    okrobie, Dec 16, 2014
    #20
Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.