10GB ethernet Card?

Discussion in 'Windows XP General Discussion' started by secpar, Nov 20, 2020.

  1. secpar

    secpar

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2020
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    10
    Anyone know of a 10GB ethernet card that can be used with Windows XP? Either PCI or PCIe?
     
    secpar, Nov 20, 2020
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. secpar

    flavallee

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2020
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Hillsborough county, Florida
    All ethernet cards that are capable of 10.0 Gbps speed were probably manufactured long after official support for Windows XP ended, so I doubt they have drivers for and will work with Windows XP.

    Why don't you use an ethernet card that's capable of 1.0 Gbps speed?
     
    flavallee, Nov 20, 2020
    #2
    Elizabeth23 likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  3. secpar

    secpar

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2020
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    10
    That doesn't help.
     
    secpar, Nov 20, 2020
    #3
  4. secpar

    Madeleine Takam

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2020
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    4
    There are 10Gbit adapters for Windows XP. Many people using them will install Windows Vista or Windows 7 drivers onto XP though



    Chelsio do native XP drivers for 10Gbe


    You could run the Chelsio 10GbE Dual SFP+ N320E T320 at 20Gbit.

    There is one going cheap here.


    https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Chelsio-...817625&hash=item2ceb97b354:g:Gj8AAOSw3jNc7QBZ


    However it will be utterly useless unless you are running a managed 10gbit or preferably a managed 25Gbit switch. You can pick up second hand Cisco Catalysts for under $2000 (£1000)


    Remember you need to be running at PCIE X8 minimum, but preferably PCE X16 otherwise no point.


    The only reason to run at these kind of speeds is if you are using multiple computers, as one system.


    Alternatively you could pick yourself up dual or quad port 1Gbit cards and bridge them for either 2Gbit or 4 Gbit. Then you only have to pay out for Cat5 or Cat6 rather than Cat7 or Fibre and you can get away with a cheap managed switch of even go for unmanaged.


    For instance this switch will allow you to push up to 2Gbit and then you only need dual cards on PCI-X or PCI E x4


    https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/NetFu-PO...hDarwoV3BBEV2b&_trksid=p2047675.c100005.m1851


    Hope this helps.
     
    Madeleine Takam, Nov 20, 2020
    #4
    priscus and secpar like this.
  5. secpar

    secpar

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2020
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    10
    Helps tremendously. I already have an ethernet backbone setup in my house with Cat7 wiring. I was able to get a few hundred feet from a thrift store.
     
    secpar, Nov 20, 2020
    #5
  6. secpar

    secpar

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2020
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    10
    Madeleine Takam,

    I am revisiting the idea of getting a 10GBE card, and think that the Chelsio may be the way to go.

    http://service.chelsio.com/portals/nec/TeamingDriverInstallationGuide.pdf

    This doc discusses drivers for XP/2003 and the T320 card.

    http://service.chelsio.com/driver-archives.html

    This page appears to be the one to retrieve drivers.

    Part number Card 110-1088-30 appears to correspond to Chelsio T320 and N320E, does this sound right to you?

    And this card does appear to be capable of running two 10GBE ports. And, correct me if I'm wrong, there should be no issue using a copper RJ-45 transceiver?

    The Cisco Catalyst switch you proposed does appear to be presently out of my budget range.

    Dialog you can skip...
    I have been observing some switches that will run at least one 10GBE link. I would, in general, use a 10GBE link between my desk station (where the edge router and modem stay) and a computer equipment station in my basement. I would, at least, want a managed switch with one 10G that could also control LAG/LACP for the common ethernet ports.

    The NAS I am looking to purchase sometime this year will have 4 built in 1GB ethernet ports, with an 10GBE card that can be added later. But I suspect that four 1gig ports will be enough for now if I had at least a couple of budget switches with a 10GBE port.​

    Trying to work things out, slowly for sure.

    I appreciate your input!
     
    secpar, Jan 14, 2021
    #6
  7. secpar

    Madeleine Takam

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2020
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    4


    Hi Secpar


    Sorry for the late response, I have been away for a few days. I don’t follow threads and I think you need to post as a reply for me to get an email.


    The Driver seems to be spot on.


    Regarding the Rj-45 from my observations from the company I used to work for. They used a mixture of CAT6, CAT6a, CAT 7 and Optical Fibre all on 10Gb.


    When the company I worked for, changed over to 10Gb, I was given five 1Gb 4 port Cards and about 20 CAT 5E Cables, plus an old 1Gbit Cisco Catalyst multiport Managed Switch. You can now pick the up for as little as £75 ($100) on ebay


    But you can pick up a Managed Cisco 10Gb switch on ebay £150 at most. See below


    https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Cisco-25...837256?hash=item2d2259c6c8:g:OJMAAOSwYhhgAHQC


    Here is the info and specs on it


    https://www.broadbandbuyer.com/store/10-gigabit-switches/24-port-10gbe-switches/?t=377&sort=1


    You could probably make them an offer of £100 and they would accept. Bound to be cheap enterprise kit in the USA too.


    In the end it’s trial and error or experimentation, as I call it.


    Have a nice weekend


    Madaleine
     
    Madeleine Takam, Jan 16, 2021
    #7
  8. secpar

    secpar

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2020
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    10
    Yeah, that 250X switch looks like it would fit the bill, perfectly. That one alone would easily replace my POE switch for cameras and the smaller Netgear switch I'm using.

    That seller doesn't appear to ship to the states, and all state side offerings on ebay are $500 or more for that switch, OR the 24-port version.

    I am not presently working in an IT field, going to school for IT certs starting in February. Been involved with computers recreationally for a long time.
     
    secpar, Jan 16, 2021
    #8
  9. secpar

    secpar

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2020
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    10
    Just thought I'd share, that I was able to pickup a Cisco SG350X-24P for $300. It was listed for $400 as an Open Box item... when I get it, I'll be able to see how new or used it really is.
     
    secpar, Jan 21, 2021 at 6:51 PM
    #9
  10. secpar

    Madeleine Takam

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2020
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    4
    The Cisco SG350X-24P looks a really good managed switch from my reading. Cisco are excellent for documentation, firmware and support. I was able to get download and support by just copying and pasting “Cisco SG350X-24P”

    There shouldn’t be any problem if the vender has been honest. The only thing I have had to do in the past with enterprise kit, is swap out fans for quiet ones; However the Cisco SG350X-24P looks reasonably quiet, at between 40 and 50 dB. Unless you are going to have it sitting on your desk - should be fine.

    Good luck with your set up. Post the results of what you actually get in real world time, say transferring a 50GB file.
     
    Madeleine Takam, Jan 22, 2021 at 7:41 AM
    #10
  11. secpar

    secpar

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2020
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    10
    Will do. This switch will be the one I setup at my desk station. The plan will be to get the quad card going first, as I already have that for now. Then link one of the 10G ethernets to the wall plug that connects to the station in the basement, where at some point, I will get a 48 port 250X or 350X switch with POE. The POE part will allow me to replace, and perhaps sell a POE switch I bought just for the camera system.

    I always, or tend to always, building for greater than my needs so I have plenty to work with.
     
    secpar, Jan 22, 2021 at 12:00 PM
    #11
  12. secpar

    Madeleine Takam

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2020
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    4
    Must admit I am a bit lost now. - - - I am guessing you are using the 4 port card for testing? I presumed you wanted the 4 port 1GHz card for an entirely different project, perhaps a music server, that doesn’t need the transfer rate? There is certainly no point in bridging – using multiple cables on any card running off 33MHz PCI. But you obviously know this.

    Your 4 Port PCI card will always be really slow. It will be restricted by the 33MHz limit. PCI-X can run at up to 133MHz, so is good for 1GHz cards IE it is 4 times the speed. Although you have a Quad Gbit card you will see a massive bottleneck with the 33MHz interface. I just presumed you didn’t care as you already had a system built with only spare PCI slots.

    Your 10Gbit card is PCI Express 4X so can cope with the speeds. Surely you have a single port 1Ghz card lying about for testing? I have scores of old SCSI, Network, Graphics, RAID and sound cards lying about.

    So I am really curious, What are you actually going to use the 4 port 1GHz PCI card for eventually? Lets face it, it is a really esoteric card to enquire about and purchase.

    Incidentally I found the increase in speed was much greater upgrading to a managed switch than my attempts at bridging multi-port cards on my old GS116, which to be honest didn't even come remotely close to doubling the speed. Managed Switch basically gave me the full potential of 1Ghz without massive collisions.
     
    Madeleine Takam, Jan 22, 2021 at 1:32 PM
    #12
  13. secpar

    secpar

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2020
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    10
    I have a lot going on in my house. Preparing for a NAS, upgrading to 10GB on the links between network segments.

    On most of my computer stations, they have 2 built in NICs, and the quad port is going in an enclosure that will get passed around between stations and do tests.

    I will eventually be getting the 10G chelsio cards, but right now I'm going to do tests with the quad HP PCI card.

    The end goal is going to be maximum throughput for the NAS on the network.

    So there is a degree of testing taking place, and there is also a degree of advancement and learning.
     
    secpar, Jan 22, 2021 at 2:06 PM
    #13
  14. secpar

    secpar

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2020
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    10
    secpar, Jan 23, 2021 at 2:40 AM
    #14
  15. secpar

    Madeleine Takam

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2020
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    4
    Madeleine Takam, Jan 23, 2021 at 10:41 AM
    #15
  16. secpar

    secpar

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2020
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    10
    Much appreciated! Thanks again!

    I have found that a lot of times Server 2003 drivers work for XP, and vice versa. So, yes, it will be a punt in a manner of speaking. Also, I have discovered through others that, sometimes Win 2000 drivers can work in XP (though, I'm running mainly XP 64 bit, so it doesn't exactly apply here).

    And, while we may certainly be the only two talking so far, I'm sure others are gathering information from this and could be planning their own upgrades.
     
    secpar, Jan 23, 2021 at 1:22 PM
    #16
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.