10GB ethernet Card?

Discussion in 'Windows XP General Discussion' started by secpar, Nov 20, 2020 at 12:28 AM.

  1. secpar

    secpar

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2020
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone know of a 10GB ethernet card that can be used with Windows XP? Either PCI or PCIe?
     
    secpar, Nov 20, 2020 at 12:28 AM
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. secpar

    flavallee

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2020
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    Hillsborough county, Florida
    All ethernet cards that are capable of 10.0 Gbps speed were probably manufactured long after official support for Windows XP ended, so I doubt they have drivers for and will work with Windows XP.

    Why don't you use an ethernet card that's capable of 1.0 Gbps speed?
     
    flavallee, Nov 20, 2020 at 1:31 AM
    #2
    Elizabeth23 likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  3. secpar

    secpar

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2020
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    That doesn't help.
     
    secpar, Nov 20, 2020 at 9:04 AM
    #3
  4. secpar

    Madeleine Takam

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    3
    There are 10Gbit adapters for Windows XP. Many people using them will install Windows Vista or Windows 7 drivers onto XP though



    Chelsio do native XP drivers for 10Gbe


    You could run the Chelsio 10GbE Dual SFP+ N320E T320 at 20Gbit.

    There is one going cheap here.


    https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Chelsio-...817625&hash=item2ceb97b354:g:Gj8AAOSw3jNc7QBZ


    However it will be utterly useless unless you are running a managed 10gbit or preferably a managed 25Gbit switch. You can pick up second hand Cisco Catalysts for under $2000 (£1000)


    Remember you need to be running at PCIE X8 minimum, but preferably PCE X16 otherwise no point.


    The only reason to run at these kind of speeds is if you are using multiple computers, as one system.


    Alternatively you could pick yourself up dual or quad port 1Gbit cards and bridge them for either 2Gbit or 4 Gbit. Then you only have to pay out for Cat5 or Cat6 rather than Cat7 or Fibre and you can get away with a cheap managed switch of even go for unmanaged.


    For instance this switch will allow you to push up to 2Gbit and then you only need dual cards on PCI-X or PCI E x4


    https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/NetFu-PO...hDarwoV3BBEV2b&_trksid=p2047675.c100005.m1851


    Hope this helps.
     
    Madeleine Takam, Nov 20, 2020 at 12:04 PM
    #4
    priscus and secpar like this.
  5. secpar

    secpar

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2020
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Helps tremendously. I already have an ethernet backbone setup in my house with Cat7 wiring. I was able to get a few hundred feet from a thrift store.
     
    secpar, Nov 20, 2020 at 12:27 PM
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.