Xp's services

Discussion in 'Windows XP Help and Support' started by dede27, Nov 13, 2013.

1. dede27

dede27

I had an uninstall problem which affected XP's Services, I think, but not certain. I am a PC novice..

Before, when I right clicked a service, properties came on screen and I could select different options.

Now I still get properties. However, that is all I get, no options.

Please advice me how to correct this problem.

Dede

Last edited: Nov 13, 2013
    dede27, Nov 13, 2013
  2. dede27

Elizabeth23

have you tried in safe mode?

you should run checkdisk also:

if you do not have Recovery Console installed, then run from the start menu

go to start, run, type in cmd

in cmd type in chkdsk c: /r and press enter

type Y for yes and press enter

type exit and press enter

restart pc, allow checkdisk to finish and run again

Elizabeth23, Nov 14, 2013
  3. dede27

dede27

Hello Elizabeth!

Sorry i did not reply sooner! I have been out of town.

Thank you very much for your help!

I did what you said to do: I went to Safe Mode and did the run, services.msc.
    When it came on, I right clicked a service and saw: start, all tasks. refresh, properties and help.

Stop, pause, resume and restart were all grey.

When I clicked start, a box said:"Could not start the alerter service on Local Computer. Error1084: This service cannot be started in Safe Mode."

I did not know what else to do, so I got out of Save Mode.

Next, I did check disk. Stages 4 and 5 took a long time to finish. When done checking, it only said:" Windows is finished checking the disk."- I did check disk again as you said.

I had tried System Restore earlier. When I started it, this is the response I received:
    " System Restore is not able to protect your computer. Please restart your computer,and then run System Restore again." I did that and got the same answer.

While I am on the System Restore subject, would you or someone tell me how to fix that problem, please.