XP Updates Take Up Too Much Space!

Discussion in 'Windows XP Help and Support' started by koolx, Oct 2, 2014.

1. koolx

koolx

I had installed xp and security updates about 2 months ago. I checked my "Add or Remove Programs" folder and was shocked to find a ton of XP Updates and Security Updates taking up a lot of storage space. Is it possible to delete many of them to free up space?

Also, Windows Update continues to push updates as recent as September. I thought they stopped supporting updates for XP in April? Anyone know what's going on?

koolx, Oct 2, 2014
  2. koolx

Aunty Jack

Adelaide, in my dreams as my wife tells me.
    Hello Koolx

Control Panel - Folder Options - View - Under Hidden Files and Folders set it to show hidden files. Ok and Apply the new setting.

Open your Windows folder, you will see hundreds of folders in blue named usually $NTUninst or similar. Safe to manually delete these (I have been doing it for over ten years and no problems).

Grab a freebie named Hard Drive Powerwash - install it and let it do it's thing. You might see Gigabytes of .log .old etc files - follow the prompts and select all and then delete. That might take a while.

After all of the above you might be amazed at how much hard disk space has been freed up.

Usual disclaimer - what works for me may trash your system.

Cheers from Aunty Jack.

Last edited: Oct 2, 2014
    Aunty Jack, Oct 2, 2014
  3. koolx

Aunty Jack

Kolox,

Further to my post earlier today. Do not under any circumstance delete the ie8 folder even if it is blue in colour, recipe for disaster. All of the other folders I mentioned contain an uninstall for Service Packs. With all the updates installed you really don't need Gigabytes of uninstall options. Also, do not use the Control Panel Add/Remove for any of this.

Cheers from Aunty Jack.

Last edited: Oct 3, 2014
    Aunty Jack, Oct 3, 2014
  4. koolx

eatup