XP thinks it is NT 4

Discussion in 'Windows XP Help and Support' started by cally45455, Jul 12, 2013.

  1. cally45455

    cally45455

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am trying to fix my mom's computer. It is a OptiPlex 755. It is running XP Pro w/service pack 3 64bit. However, I cannot download updates or Malicious Software Tool or Fix It because the computer says it is running NT 4. I I've tried system restore which didn't help.
    I do not any an XP disk. Can anyone gives me some suggestions which do not require CD? thank you
     
    cally45455, Jul 12, 2013
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. cally45455

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,636
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Florida
    page 217 of 248 restore to factory conditions, see user's guide below, this will work if drive has never been formatted.


    ftp://ftp.dell.com/Manuals/all-prod...x_desktop/optiplex-755_user's guide_en-us.pdf


    1. it cannot be a 64bit if you are at service pack 3, 64 bit only goes to sp2, in xp.

    sp3 is for 32bit, go to start, right click on My computer, choose properties, if you see 64bit anywhere then you have a 64 bit pc, if not then you have a 32bit system.

    on this general tab it will also have the os that is installed, please check that it is indeed xp and what version, pro, home or mce?

    you will want to run checkdisk, :

    if you do not have Recovery Console installed, then run from the start menu

    go to start, run, type in cmd

    in cmd type in chkdsk c: /r and press enter

    type Y for yes and press enter

    type exit and press enter

    restart pc, allow checkdisk to finish and run again.

    and you will also want to ensure that your pc is infection free:

    1. what is your current antivirus?

    2. do the following:


    Download, install, update and do full scan with these free malware detection programs:

    Malwarebytes (MBAM): http://www.malwarebytes.org/products/malwarebytes_free
    SUPERAntiSpyware: (SAS): http://www.superantispyware.com/

    Remove all found, reboot, and run again until scans run clean, these can be removed afterwards if you so choose. Run scans one at a time, please.
    -----------------------

    if you cannot download in normal boot, go to safe mode with networking.

    post back, and look in disk management to see if you have a hidden partition of approx 3 or 4 gb on which would be your restore partition.
     
    Elizabeth23, Jul 12, 2013
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. cally45455

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,636
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Florida
    Elizabeth23, Feb 17, 2016
    #3
  4. cally45455

    red

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2021
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    united kindom
    guess you tried to update xp with wrong disk or download? if not yet fixed then just go to internet archive and get a fresh copy of the 64 bit xp ( most have the keys) and re install, then get your drivers and away you go
    ;) gl
     
    red, Jun 5, 2021
    #4
  5. cally45455

    Kahilia

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2021
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Roskillaz, DK
    Where on the internet archive(.org) might they be hosting a x64 bit version of XP?
    Remember searching on it a while back, but don't think I've seen that.
    (If only it was available with da-language. Would rule to run that with 8GB ram)
     
    Kahilia, Jul 14, 2021
    #5
  6. cally45455

    red

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2021
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    united kindom
    check under cd rom listing have it myself on dell laptop
     
    red, Jul 15, 2021
    #6
  7. cally45455

    Kahilia

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2021
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Roskillaz, DK
    Kahilia, Jul 22, 2021
    #7
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.