xp not booting up isaass.exe the problem

Discussion in 'Windows XP Help and Support' started by Mitch Essence, Jun 14, 2018 at 1:42 PM.

  1. Mitch Essence

    Mitch Essence

    Joined:
    Thursday
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys so here i am solving this problem with some previous info
    booting up with knoppix and having to do this

    1) Rename "c:\windows\sytem32\config\security" to security.bak

    2) copy c:\windows\system32\repair\security to the location above.

    Only thing is there is no repair folder in system32.

    Any info on this?

    Boot up failure supposed to be due to security file damage.
    I'm thinking replace the file windows fixed.
     
    Mitch Essence, Jun 14, 2018 at 1:42 PM
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Mitch Essence

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,122
    Likes Received:
    89
    Location:
    Florida
    is the 2) copy c:\windows\system32\repair\security to the location above.located on the knoppix?

    I have looked in my xp pro windows system 32 and I do not have that repair folder either so it must be on the Knoppix copy. ??
     
    Elizabeth23, Jun 14, 2018 at 7:41 PM
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Mitch Essence

    Mitch Essence

    Joined:
    Thursday
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Will check that out
     
    Mitch Essence, Jun 16, 2018 at 9:31 AM
    #3
  4. Mitch Essence

    Mitch Essence

    Joined:
    Thursday
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Couldn't find it will try on the web because otherwise i can see all my files with knoppix
    and i dont wanna loose them. Its only one file i need to replace and the system is fixed.
    That's the whole deal.
     
    Mitch Essence, Jun 16, 2018 at 11:10 AM
    #4
  5. Mitch Essence

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,122
    Likes Received:
    89
    Location:
    Florida
    Elizabeth23, Jun 16, 2018 at 2:01 PM
    #5
  6. Mitch Essence

    Mitch Essence

    Joined:
    Thursday
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Found it. Did it and now getting "When trying to update a password this return value indicates that the current password provided is incorrect"

    Before replacing security i reached logon screen and then rebooted.
     
    Mitch Essence, Jun 17, 2018 at 9:15 AM
    #6
  7. Mitch Essence

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,122
    Likes Received:
    89
    Location:
    Florida
    below from HERE:

    Boot into your Windows CD and choose recovery console or if you can press F8 and boot to DOS/command prompt and type the following (comments in brackets are not to be typed):- press enter after each line.

    cd \
    (the prompt should now be C:\>)
    cd system~1\_resto~1
    dir
    (You will now get a listing of all the restore points, with names like rp1, rp2, etc. You will need to use the one second from last.)
    cd rpx (where x is the number of the restore point we are using)
    cd snapshot
    copy _registry_machine_sam \windows\system32\config\sam
    copy _registry_machine_security \windows\system32\config\security
    copy _registry_machine_software \windows\system32\config\software
    copy _registry_machine_system \windows\system32\config\system
    copy _registry_user_.default \windows\system32\config\default
    exit

    ============

    this will replace your registry hives and you might want to go back at least 2 restore points. you can use the knoppix dos prompt for this.
     
    Elizabeth23, Jun 17, 2018 at 2:25 PM
    #7
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.