XP doesn't read correct size of my hard drive

Discussion in 'Windows XP Help and Support' started by gimmeagig, May 13, 2014.

  1. gimmeagig

    gimmeagig

    Joined:
    May 13, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,
    I have XP sp3 and a 500 gig hard drive . I like to collect videos of concerts and I am up to 475 gigs on my main drive where the system also resides. 200 gigs of that are videos, the rest are MP3s.
    I also have a 2 TB external drive so when I saw that the main drive was almost full I moved my videos to the external drive. To my surprise XP under the c: drive properties still shows 475 gigs used....no change!
    Then I went into the folder of the C:drive then I selected to show hidden files and I select everything in it.After that I opened properties and the result was 278 gigs used which sounds about right.
    My questions are the following:
    #1: Is that fixable for someone like me who doesn't have a computer science degree?
    #2: If I accumulate an additional 25 gigs will the computer then see the disk as full?
    #3: If that happens will I have problems or is there some workaround?

    My system is not FAT but the other one NTFS ( is that it?) I would very much prefer if there was a way to avoid having to reinstall windows and start over.
    Can you guys help me?
     
    gimmeagig, May 13, 2014
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. gimmeagig

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,882
    Likes Received:
    333
    Location:
    Florida
    Elizabeth23, May 13, 2014
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. gimmeagig

    gimmeagig

    Joined:
    May 13, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for trying to help. My question had nothing to do with moving my I tunes library.
    And yes I know about the need for windows to have a certain amount of space, I just wasn't sure how windows determines how much space there is. Like I said The C:drive reads one thing and the content when I select it reads the correct space.
    As it turns out, it may be a Rollback RX issue. I didn't mention I had this program installed because I didn't think it mattered. RX is a program that takes snapshots and saves them as restore points. I'm going to set a new baseline once i know everything on my hard drive is good. Then I can delete the old restore points and then the drive space might be back.I hope :)
     
    gimmeagig, May 13, 2014
    #3
  4. gimmeagig

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,882
    Likes Received:
    333
    Location:
    Florida
    Last edited: May 14, 2014
    Elizabeth23, May 14, 2014
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.