Wyse Cx0 installing XP?

Discussion in 'Windows XP Hardware' started by DK59, Oct 19, 2020.

  1. DK59

    DK59

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2018
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    6
    I bought a thin client to start a pipboy type project with a backpack.

    is it possible to get regular xp on the wyse or am I stuck with embedded?
     
    DK59, Oct 19, 2020
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. DK59

    Mike_Walsh

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2016
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    62
    Location:
    King's Lynn, UK.
    Take a look here:-

    https://www.parkytowers.me.uk/thin/wyse/cx0/

    I have no experience of these things (though a mate on the Puppy Linux forums used to mess about with 'em), but AFAIK 'ParkyTowers' is THE place to obtain all kinds of info about thin clients....past AND present.


    Mike. ;)
     
    Mike_Walsh, Nov 18, 2020
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. DK59

    priscus

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2016
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    55
    I have a couple of thin clients running, (they are a HP, and an Igel) I replaced the proprietary modules with mSATA SSDs without problems, but as I found myself limited to 2GB RAM, I opted to run lightweight Linux operating systems upon them. The Parky Towers site mentioned by Mike indicated I should be able to run 4GB on the Igel, but I have tried, and not got it to run, so reverted back to 2GB.

    I did wonder if it would be possible to harvest the drivers used by the embedded WindowsXP, to re-use with a conventional disk distribution of XP, as I had envisioned that acquiring fresh XP drivers for the thin clients to be unlikely. (Both of them will boot from disk).

    I have no idea where to find the relevant drivers, or whether drivers 'harvested' as suggested would work. I would be interested to hear if anyone does know.

    (PS the Igel runs Linux Mint fine, as long as I stick to a lightweight desktop: ie not Cinnamon, Mate is iffy, Xfce is fine.)
     
    priscus, Nov 18, 2020
    #3
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.