Wyse Cx0 installing XP?

Discussion in 'Windows XP Hardware' started by DK59, Oct 19, 2020.

1. DK59

DK59

I bought a thin client to start a pipboy type project with a backpack.

is it possible to get regular xp on the wyse or am I stuck with embedded?

DK59, Oct 19, 2020
    Samir likes this.
  2. DK59

Mike_Walsh

Take a look here:-

https://www.parkytowers.me.uk/thin/wyse/cx0/

I have no experience of these things (though a mate on the Puppy Linux forums used to mess about with 'em), but AFAIK 'ParkyTowers' is THE place to obtain all kinds of info about thin clients....past AND present.

Mike. ;)

Mike_Walsh, Nov 18, 2020
    Samir likes this.
  3. DK59

priscus

I have a couple of thin clients running, (they are a HP, and an Igel) I replaced the proprietary modules with mSATA SSDs without problems, but as I found myself limited to 2GB RAM, I opted to run lightweight Linux operating systems upon them. The Parky Towers site mentioned by Mike indicated I should be able to run 4GB on the Igel, but I have tried, and not got it to run, so reverted back to 2GB.

I did wonder if it would be possible to harvest the drivers used by the embedded WindowsXP, to re-use with a conventional disk distribution of XP, as I had envisioned that acquiring fresh XP drivers for the thin clients to be unlikely. (Both of them will boot from disk).

I have no idea where to find the relevant drivers, or whether drivers 'harvested' as suggested would work. I would be interested to hear if anyone does know.

(PS the Igel runs Linux Mint fine, as long as I stick to a lightweight desktop: ie not Cinnamon, Mate is iffy, Xfce is fine.)

priscus, Nov 18, 2020
    Samir likes this.
  4. DK59

Samir