Workstation with 2 computer names

Discussion in 'Windows XP Help and Support' started by tim paupst, Aug 14, 2017.

  1. tim paupst

    tim paupst

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    We have a question.

    We have a workstation, where we login locally using the (localMachineName)\Administrator) account.
    What we have yet to determine is, why the local computer name of this workstation, differs from the local machinename\account.

    The local workstation name is registered in active directory, as Machine1, and if you select the local computer properties of this system, it shows the machine name as Machine.,

    How is it possible, that the local workstation name (Machine1), is not used with the local login account?
    ex (domain\Administrator) - Machine1\Administrator is not how we log in ; Machine/Administrator, is.
     
    tim paupst, Aug 14, 2017
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. tim paupst

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,879
    Likes Received:
    332
    Location:
    Florida
    go to start/control panel/ administrative tools/ computer management/ system tools/ local users and groups/ click on users and it will list the user accounts, it appears that at one time 2 accounts machine and machine1 were created, (the built in administrator account should never be used as an every day account) so if you want to delete one of the accounts or disable it do so and do not think that the machine name and the account name are the same.
     
    Elizabeth23, Aug 14, 2017
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. tim paupst

    tim paupst

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the response. The account used is Administrator, the domain used to login with is Machine.

    Its not an account issue. Its a domain issue, where, when logging into a machine locally, using any account, it is prefixed by the local machine name, used as domain, where in this case is Machine1.
     
    tim paupst, Aug 14, 2017
    #3
  4. tim paupst

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,879
    Likes Received:
    332
    Location:
    Florida
    Elizabeth23, Aug 14, 2017
    #4
  5. tim paupst

    tim paupst

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Elizabeth23,

    Thanks for the links. I tested a couple things this morning related to them.

    We found the problem. It has to do with the net-bios name being restricted to 15 characters, even though an AD object can exceed that. Once you join the workstation to the domain, the local machine name remains, but the AD/DOMAIN name for the local workstation is trimmed to 15 characters.

    Ex. XXX-XXX-AB1234TEST (AD name and local machine name) - is trimmed to XXX-XXX-AB1234 as the local machine domain

    Login : XXX-XXX-AB1234\Administrator is the user login account
     
    tim paupst, Aug 15, 2017
    #5
  6. tim paupst

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,879
    Likes Received:
    332
    Location:
    Florida
    glad you solved your issue, :)
     
    Elizabeth23, Aug 15, 2017
    #6
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.