Windows XP- Virtual Box CD Problems

Discussion in 'Windows XP Help and Support' started by Max_09, Oct 16, 2018.

  1. Max_09

    Max_09

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hello,

    I hope I have posted this in the right place.

    A few months ago, I discovered Virtual Box and after doing some research, I decided to download it because I am interested in being able to use Windows XP on my current Windows 10. At the time of downloading Virtual Box, I did not have a CD.

    Please note that I have create a Windows XP virtual machine, but all that is now required is to get the "bootable medium" or CD to make it fully functional.

    I now have a CD, but this is where I am having problems. The CD is a copy of Windows XP Pro, but it is a copy in the sense that it has all the files required for Windows XP Pro, e.g.: SETUP, but these are all in folders. While installing this on a computer system itself may not be so difficult, using it in Virtual Box is another matter.

    I am unsure what to do in order to get my Virtual Box working with this CD.

    Advice and/ or solutions would be greatly appreciated.

    Kind regards,
    Max
     
    Max_09, Oct 16, 2018
    #1
    cmccaff1 likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  2. Max_09

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,636
    Likes Received:
    258
    Location:
    Florida
    I do not use a vpn, so I can give you a search page to look through several articles, but there are others here who can help you with this.
     
    Elizabeth23, Oct 16, 2018
    #2
    cmccaff1 likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  3. Max_09

    cmccaff1

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2018
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    135
    You came to the right place, Max! Sadly, I do not know a great deal about VirtualBox, though I have used it before. As much as possible I prefer to run OSes on natively compatible hardware, and I am running XP as my main OS from my HP Compaq DC5000 SFF (P4 2.8GHz) right now. Depending on what kind of system you're running (Core 2 Duo/Quad, 1st/2nd/3rd-gen i3/i5/i7, etc.) it should actually be possible to do a native XP install but if you'd prefer to use 10 as your main OS then that's not a problem at all. This link may help:

    http://www.tomshardware.com/faq/id-1853121/set-virtual-windows-machine-virtualbox.html

    I'm sorry I couldn't be more of a help, but I pray this information will be somewhat useful! I extend you a nice and hearty welcome to the XP forums!
     
    cmccaff1, Oct 16, 2018
    #3
  4. Max_09

    Lockherup

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2018
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    44
    Just start VB and it will ask you to boot from a CD or ISO. I may have it mixed up with WMware but it was extremely easy when I did it.
     
    Lockherup, Oct 17, 2018
    #4
    cmccaff1 likes this.
  5. Max_09

    j896

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    8
    j896, Oct 17, 2018
    #5
    cmccaff1 likes this.
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.