windows Xp pro sp2 backup/Cd-rw Help

Discussion in 'Windows XP Help and Support' started by LCD336, May 28, 2014.

  1. LCD336

    LCD336

    Joined:
    May 28, 2014
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    i want to reinstall windows xp pro to just regular windows xp. i want to backup all my stuff to a cd-rw, but it wont recognise it, and when i try doing it with a regular cd-r it says "the backup file name cant be used":confused:

    so questions.
    *can do i get it to recognise a cd-rw,and if yes, How?
    *how do i back it up???
     
    Last edited: May 28, 2014
    LCD336, May 28, 2014
    #1
  2. LCD336

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,849
    Likes Received:
    757
    Location:
    Florida
    first, you cannot install any os except what came with the pc, as the key is tied to the pc.

    second, your title says sp2, do you have a 64 bit system?? if not you should be at sp3

    third, please tell exactly what happens when you put a cd into the drive

    fourth, please read below and see if any of the issues fit your problem.

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/314060
     
    Elizabeth23, May 29, 2014
    #2
  3. LCD336

    LCD336

    Joined:
    May 28, 2014
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    its service pack 2, my highest colour quality is like 32-bit.and, i have 2 cd drives on this Desktop, the one on the top doesent seem to work.but the bottom one was meant for both CD-RW's and CD-R's.:confused:
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2014
    LCD336, May 29, 2014
    #3
  4. LCD336

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,849
    Likes Received:
    757
    Location:
    Florida
    you can open the case and switch the cd drives as the top one may be inoperable.

    if you do not have a manual, we can look online for one, what is the make, model and model number of your pc?
     
    Elizabeth23, May 29, 2014
    #4
  5. LCD336

    LCD336

    Joined:
    May 28, 2014
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    its an optiplex GX240.

    but i'm scared to do anything with it, i dont wanna mess anything up.its pretty much my only gateway to the internet.:(. [P.S. thanks for helping me so much...]
     
    LCD336, May 29, 2014
    #5
  6. LCD336

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,849
    Likes Received:
    757
    Location:
    Florida
    Elizabeth23, May 29, 2014
    #6
  7. LCD336

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,849
    Likes Received:
    757
    Location:
    Florida
    Elizabeth23, May 29, 2014
    #7
Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.