Windows XP Pro re-activation

Discussion in 'Windows XP General Discussion' started by iotriton, Jul 10, 2019.

  1. iotriton

    iotriton

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    How can I reactivate WIndows XP Pro if there are no longer Servers to connect to?
     
    iotriton, Jul 10, 2019
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. iotriton

    iotriton

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here's my problem:
    The old Motherboard (mcp61) for the Windows XP PC died so I found a tower with another Motherboard (AsRock Wolfdale1333-667) and moved the Hard drive to it. It boots fine but then it shows that Windows isn't activated, something that didn't happen with the other Tower/Motherboard. I've tried the oobe trick, etc. but to no avail. It still wants to activate but refuses the original serial key and others. After all these years, isn't it ridiculous that MS wants to be greedy and forces you to reactivate an OS you already activated eons ago?

    And no, I can't format it because the old software (analytical stuff) can't be found.
     
    iotriton, Jul 10, 2019
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. iotriton

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,917
    Likes Received:
    347
    Location:
    Florida
    you will have to go the telephone route, BUT a new motherboard means you need a new product key, did the tower you put your harddrive in have a coa sticker on the case, ? if it is an oem pc then the coa sticker product key is still viable
     
    Elizabeth23, Jul 11, 2019
    #3
  4. iotriton

    iotriton

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is the Telephone option still available? I thought that was phased out. I will try that option. Any other option available, like cracking a phased out OS?

    PS
    Yes, the "new" Tower has a sticker with another Product Key.
     
    iotriton, Jul 11, 2019
    #4
  5. iotriton

    WindowsXPforever

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2018
    Messages:
    484
    Likes Received:
    176
    Location:
    Lithuania
    No need a new key, even after the mobo is replaced as it works anyways :)
    Infact the online option still works fine as long as hou have TLS 1.2 and AES 256-Bit support
     
    WindowsXPforever, Jul 11, 2019
    #5
  6. iotriton

    iotriton

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Finally, I managed to activate Windows XP PRO via the telephone option. It was tedious at first but I managed to survive the whole deal. Gave the PC to the interested party. Now let's see if the analytical instrument will work with the "new" PC.

    Thanks for your help!
     
    iotriton, Jul 12, 2019
    #6
  7. iotriton

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,917
    Likes Received:
    347
    Location:
    Florida
    iotriton: do the following and you will not have to worry about activation, the first time you go online after a fresh install with all the updates and it asks to activate, say yes to online and it will do it's thing and come back activated, the files below work for oem install not sure about a self made pc but should work the same. :)


    Create the Activation Status



    Navigate to system32 folder.

    Copy the wpa.dbl and wpa.bak files

    Reinstall XP in the normal manner

    Restart the computer and use the F8 key to bring up the Advanced Boot Options

    Select Minimal Safe Mode using Up and Down Arrow Keys and press Enter.

    Navigate to system32 folder.

    Rename the existing wpa.dbl and wpa.bak files.

    Copy the previously backed up wpa.dbl and wpa.bak files to the system32 folder.

    Reboot the computer.
     
    Elizabeth23, Jul 12, 2019
    #7
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.