Windows XP Info

Discussion in 'Windows XP Installation and Setup' started by Mr. Crafty, Aug 23, 2014.

  1. Mr. Crafty

    Mr. Crafty

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a HP Compaq nw8440 which had Windows XP pre-installed. I had installed Windows 8/8.1 and 7 on my computer to see if it would run well, sadly it was a little too much on my computer. Since my HDD is failing, I bought a new one today and would like to install XP on it.
    I do not have a Windows XP disc, nor a code. Would it be illegal to use an ISO to re-install Windows XP?

    Thanks for any help :)
     
    Mr. Crafty, Aug 23, 2014
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Mr. Crafty

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,321
    Likes Received:
    478
    Location:
    Florida
    since you have an oem it would have to be an oem install iso image.

    and it would have to be the same version as original, ie home to home or pro to pro.

    that way your product key which is on the sticker on the pc will still be valild.
     
    Elizabeth23, Aug 24, 2014
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Mr. Crafty

    Mr. Crafty

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0

    Right, I had Windows XP Pro SP3. So if I use an XP Pro SP3 OEM ISO, then that's legal?
     
    Mr. Crafty, Aug 24, 2014
    #3
  4. Mr. Crafty

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,321
    Likes Received:
    478
    Location:
    Florida
    yes, it should be the oem for hp, not a dell, or gateway or anything else. :)

    --
     
    Elizabeth23, Aug 24, 2014
    #4
  5. Mr. Crafty

    Mr. Crafty

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can I use a HP Windows XP Pro SP2 ISO and download SP3?
     
    Mr. Crafty, Aug 24, 2014
    #5
  6. Mr. Crafty

    Mr. Crafty

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Also, I'm using Windows 8 right now, and I'm on an x86 computer so I can't install XP to my external notebook HDD normally, and when doing it on the desktop, it gives me compatibility issues, and it will not continue past that.

    Anyway to get XP to install on the external?
     
    Mr. Crafty, Aug 24, 2014
    #6
  7. Mr. Crafty

    Mr. Crafty

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Alright, I just swapped out the HDD's since Windows XP can't be installed to an external. I also installed the HP XP Pro SP2 OEM.

    Thank you for the help :)
     
    Mr. Crafty, Aug 24, 2014
    #7
  8. Mr. Crafty

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,321
    Likes Received:
    478
    Location:
    Florida
    Okay, glad your issue is resolved.

    read HERE, if you want to later dual boot xp and win 8
     
    Elizabeth23, Aug 25, 2014
    #8
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.