Windows XP in virtual machine

Discussion in 'Windows XP General Discussion' started by tano, Mar 18, 2021.

  1. tano

    tano

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2021
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    2
    tano, Mar 18, 2021
    #1
    Samir likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  2. tano

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,637
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Florida
    I have never needed to download an ISO as my pc came with a reinstall cd from dell. but if you read the reviews you can get some picture of what this iso image will give you , some say bsod and this might be a hardware issue not an issue with the iso, most say the iso ran fine. all you can do is download it, burn a copy to a cd and then install and see. :)
     
    Elizabeth23, Mar 19, 2021
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. tano

    tano

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2021
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    2
    Well I can just mount the .iso file in my virtual machine software and install it like that, however I didn't do it yet because I'm gathering information from people as I don't want to download something unsafe
     
    tano, Mar 19, 2021
    #3
  4. tano

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,637
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Florida
    when you download anything, download to the desktop and scan with your antivirus, or you can extract the files to a folder (this will not harm the iso) on the desktop and scan the files again from the created folder, I always scan any download and I more or less can tell when a website is apt to give dodgy downloads. :)

    I have downloaded many items from that website, (ebooks), and have not had a malware in any , so far. :)
     
    Elizabeth23, Mar 19, 2021
    #4
  5. tano

    secpar

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2020
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    63
    I have briefly dabbled in setting up a Windows XP virtual machine in both VirtualBox and VMWare on a Linux Mint setup. VMware worked better and more smoothly in terms of graphics when attempting to play a game...

    However, setting up a VM using Windows XP shouldn't be an issue if your goal is something other than games.
     
    secpar, Mar 19, 2021
    #5
  6. tano

    tano

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2021
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have no issue with setting it up, I just want to make sure I will download the proper safe .iso file, and yes VMWare is better in terms of graphics and I use it.
     
    tano, Mar 19, 2021
    #6
  7. tano

    secpar

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2020
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    63
    If the concern is a proper and safe ISO, then use Microsoft's website?

    There should still be an ISO available there, I think.

    Name may be one of the two:
    en_windows_xp_professional_with_service_pack_3_x86_cd_x14-80428.iso
    or
    xpsp3_5512.080413-2113_usa_x86fre_spcd.iso

    Although, I believe the second one is more of a standalone SP3 pack.
     
    secpar, Mar 19, 2021
    #7
  8. tano

    tano

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2021
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    2
    How can I find the link? I don't think there's one on microsoft site anymore, unless I access it somehow through a link which is not published anywhere on their site.
     
    tano, Mar 19, 2021
    #8
  9. tano

    secpar

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2020
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    63
    Copy and paste the ISO name into search engine.
     
    secpar, Mar 19, 2021
    #9
    tano likes this.
  10. tano

    tano

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2021
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    2
    tano, Mar 19, 2021
    #10
    Samir likes this.
  11. tano

    secpar

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2020
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    63
    Sounds like you'll have to make a decision either way.

    Wish you the best!
     
    secpar, Mar 21, 2021
    #11
    Samir likes this.
  12. tano

    Samir

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2021
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    HSV and SFO
    Samir, Apr 1, 2021
    #12
  13. tano

    r3tr0g4mr_qbc

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2021
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    2
    Mounting the ISO in the VM, even if it is unsafe, will not hurt the host OS, as it is the intent of the VM software to isolate whatever you run in it from the host, you could even test viruses and malware that way.
    Myself I use Oracle VirtualBox on a Debian install on my laptop and I feel secure that what I run on the VM will not affect anything on the host system.
     
    r3tr0g4mr_qbc, Jun 24, 2021
    #13
    Samir likes this.
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.