Windows setup requires ahci driver to boot

Discussion in 'Windows XP Help and Support' started by Alex_IT, Aug 30, 2022.

  1. Alex_IT

    Alex_IT

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2022
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    how do i put the driver on the cd so the setup can use it? (I've attached the zip file)
    ****URGENT****
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Aug 30, 2022
    Alex_IT, Aug 30, 2022
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Alex_IT

    tekkaman

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2021
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    13
    Hello,


    I´ll try to help. First of all it can´t be zipped. There are 3 ways you can proceed:


    1- In your bios set your sata mode to IDE. That way you won´t need any drivers. That´s the easiest way.


    2- Windows XP only searches for scsi and Sata drivers if they are in floppy drive A:. You can extract them there and I believe it should work. But I think it has to be an internal floppy drive. It can´t be a USB one.


    3- You can use a tool called Nlite. You can get it here: https://www.nliteos.com/index.html . With that you can integrate the driver to the installation CD and it works great. I have tried it this way and it works. You can even integrate all updates if you care for that sort of thing. You can try to install other drivers as well but not all work. Some will remain uninstalled.
     
    tekkaman, Aug 30, 2022
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Alex_IT

    Alex_IT

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2022
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    i don't have any of those
     
    Alex_IT, Aug 30, 2022
    #3
  4. Alex_IT

    Alex_IT

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2022
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    isn't it possible to create a folder on the disk and put the driver files in it?
     
    Alex_IT, Aug 30, 2022
    #4
  5. Alex_IT

    Alex_IT

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2022
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    and idk how to set my bois to ide
     
    Alex_IT, Aug 30, 2022
    #5
  6. Alex_IT

    Alex_IT

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2022
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    its a hp slimline desktop 260-a114
     
    Alex_IT, Aug 30, 2022
    #6
  7. Alex_IT

    tekkaman

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2021
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    13
    As I said before Windows XP doesn´t search for drivers unless they´re on the root directory of an internal floppy disc A:. Windows Vista and newer do search on other drives. XP just doesn´t have that.
    On many HP I beleive I pressed really fast the ESC key while powering up. It would bring up a small menu that states which key to press to enter the Bios. I think it was F2 but I don´t remember. Once you enter look for Sata mode and select IDE then save and exit. XP should install without problems.
     
    tekkaman, Aug 30, 2022
    #7
    Elizabeth23 likes this.
  8. Alex_IT

    Alex_IT

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2022
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    its f10 to enter bios settings
     
    Alex_IT, Aug 30, 2022
    #8
  9. Alex_IT

    Alex_IT

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2022
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    i go to menu that say sata emulation : ahci but it don't let me change it?
     
    Alex_IT, Aug 30, 2022
    #9
  10. Alex_IT

    Alex_IT

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2022
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    and when i do run the installer it says the driver is mismanaging PTEs or something like that
     
    Alex_IT, Aug 30, 2022
    #10
  11. Alex_IT

    tekkaman

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2021
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    13
    To change Sata settings in bios you have to use page up or page down keys. Or maybe + - keys. Then save and exit Select IDE mode or Legacy mode
     
    tekkaman, Aug 31, 2022
    #11
  12. Alex_IT

    Alex_IT

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2022
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    i pressed every key and nothing happened
     
    Alex_IT, Aug 31, 2022
    #12
  13. Alex_IT

    Alex_IT

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2022
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    i pressed f1 and a help menu that looked something like this:
     
    Alex_IT, Aug 31, 2022
    #13
  14. Alex_IT

    Alex_IT

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2022
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    (1) IDE (2) AHCI

    press any key to continue
     
    Alex_IT, Aug 31, 2022
    #14
  15. Alex_IT

    tekkaman

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2021
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    13
    I guess the manual might say which key it is. Anyways I have bad news. I checked the model number you posted and it looks like your PC was released in 2017 and it came with Windows 10. Even if you can install XP on it you won´t have any drivers on it and it would be unusable. There are some people that have managed to get XP working on newer systems but it has been on very specific motherboards and parts. The lowest that system could probably go is Windows 8.1. Then you can try this user customized Windows 8 that looks and acts like Windows 7. You can get it if you´re interested here: https://www.eastcoast.hosting/Windows9/ You have to buy a key though.

    If you want XP you have to find a computer that is compatible with it. My system is from 2014 but I had to buy the parts that I knew were compatible.
     
    tekkaman, Aug 31, 2022
    #15
  16. Alex_IT

    Alex_IT

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2022
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok, but how would i even install windows because im only able to use chrome os at the moment
     
    Alex_IT, Aug 31, 2022
    #16
  17. Alex_IT

    tekkaman

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2021
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    13
    tekkaman, Aug 31, 2022
    #17
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.