Windows Media Player suddenly stopped seeing MP3s.

Discussion in 'Windows XP Help and Support' started by ulrichburke, Mar 17, 2016.

1. ulrichburke

ulrichburke

Dear Anyone.

I've got XP SP3 with Windows Media Player 11. It WAS playing/burning MP3s of my pieces I've written myself (I'm not asking anything dodgy here, promise!) like a dream. Then suddenly it started saying there was a problem with the files, but VLC was still playing them all fine. And then it stopped wanting to convert them to burn them.

And that's literally all I know (says he unhelpfully!) One day, everything fantastic. Next day, nothing doing. I'd changed nothing in between. I've been into Services.MSC and MSCONFIG and can't see anything obviously off that ought to be on. But I'm not an expert.

Please, feel free to suggest anything and everything. I've downloaded codec packs, that hasn't helped but that doesn't mean there isn't a codec pack out there that WOULD help if I knew what and where it was. I've downloaded another version of WMP11 and installed that but that didn't replace the right bit, it's still not touching MP3s. Now I'm flat out of ideas.

Anyone got some?

Yours hopefully

Chris.

ulrichburke, Mar 17, 2016
  2. ulrichburke

ulrichburke

NOT a bump - promise - but I've just downloaded a file that says it's in .WMA format and Windows Media Player won't play that either.

What's going on, someone!?!

Chris (again!)

ulrichburke, Mar 17, 2016
  3. ulrichburke

Elizabeth23

what is your current antivirus??

run a full scan and also run a scan with malwarebytes FREE.

then when pc is clean, try again let me know results

Elizabeth23, Mar 17, 2016
  4. ulrichburke

jackdashack