Windows can't detect HDD because driver cache\i386 files are missing. PLZ HELP

Discussion in 'Windows XP Drivers' started by TheMaster26, Apr 2, 2015.

  1. TheMaster26

    TheMaster26

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    I have edited the registry before. Is there no way for windows to detect which files are missing and add them? Because reinstalling windows is going to be my last resort(I have no other disk to copy my data to).
     
    TheMaster26, Apr 7, 2015
    #21
    1. Advertisements

  2. TheMaster26

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,745
    Likes Received:
    304
    Location:
    Florida
    flash drives are cheap and you can transfer your data to the flash drive.

    if you do a repair install this would help, however you cannot repair an sp3 setup with a sp2 disk, the disk has to be at the same service pack as the installed os.

    so no there is no way to see what is missing, unless we can get the system to boot and then see if any error mesages will come up and/or run sfc.
     
    Elizabeth23, Apr 7, 2015
    #22
    1. Advertisements

  3. TheMaster26

    TheMaster26

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    I have a slipstreamed sp3 cd. Will it work?
     
    TheMaster26, Apr 7, 2015
    #23
  4. TheMaster26

    TheMaster26

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    I have encountered a HUGE problem. My hard disk is not detected in My Computer. What could be the problem? I know the drive picked up on my friend's desktop, but why not here?
     
    TheMaster26, Apr 7, 2015
    #24
  5. TheMaster26

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,745
    Likes Received:
    304
    Location:
    Florida
    did you burn hirens?? Hirens should detect your hard drive as yours has a boot problem, which we might be able to fix with fixmbr, but you have to have something to see the drive. A slipstreamed sp3 cd should be able to run a repair install:

    http://michaelstevenstech.com/XPrepairinstall.htm
    detailed instructions on a repair install

    HOWEVER: your slipstreamed cd has to have sata controllers slipstreamed onto it also as xp will not install on a sata drive without the raid controllers.
     
    Elizabeth23, Apr 7, 2015
    #25
  6. TheMaster26

    TheMaster26

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    I just realized that I forgot to tell you something: When I tried booting from the hard drive, the screen which asks if you wanna start windows in safe mode, last known good configuration etc.comes up and if I select safemode a whole lot of lines with "multi(0)disk(0)rdisk()partition(1)\windows\system32\drivers\*different .sys files" comes up. Could that also be a problem? And what are RAID controllers & where can get them?
     
    TheMaster26, Apr 7, 2015
    #26
  7. TheMaster26

    TheMaster26

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    About the xp repair: I tried that when I got the slipstreamed CD and it does not detect the hard drive.
     
    TheMaster26, Apr 7, 2015
    #27
  8. TheMaster26

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,745
    Likes Received:
    304
    Location:
    Florida
    XP will NOT detect a sata drive without the controllers

    [​IMG]

    http://f.tqn.com/y/pcsupport/1/S/E/b/-/-/windows-xp-safe-mode-boot-process.png

    first is the advanced boot options, then is xp loading drivers for safe mode, safe mode loads the barest minimum of drivers as safe mode is a troubleshooting mode.

    if you can boot into safe mode, you can boot into safe mode with networking and go to a site that can scan your system for drivers and then we will be able to see the controllers or else we need the drive manufacturer and model so I can search for the controllers.
     
    Elizabeth23, Apr 7, 2015
    #28
  9. TheMaster26

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,745
    Likes Received:
    304
    Location:
    Florida
    [​IMG]

    driver loading pic it will stay here for approx few minutes and then should boot to desktop
     
    Elizabeth23, Apr 7, 2015
    #29
  10. TheMaster26

    TheMaster26

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    The driver loading screen stays for a while then the pc boots from 2nd device
     
    TheMaster26, Apr 7, 2015
    #30
  11. TheMaster26

    TheMaster26

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    I read something about boot sectors being damaged on other forums. Could that be the case?
     
    TheMaster26, Apr 7, 2015
    #31
  12. TheMaster26

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,745
    Likes Received:
    304
    Location:
    Florida
    above from here, read thoroughly, please

    we need to get into the system or recovery console to run fixboot and/or fixmbr.
     
    Elizabeth23, Apr 7, 2015
    #32
  13. TheMaster26

    TheMaster26

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    TheMaster26, Apr 7, 2015
    #33
  14. TheMaster26

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,745
    Likes Received:
    304
    Location:
    Florida
    if they are the drivers for your pc, then they would still have to be slipstreamed onto the install cd

    either floppy or slipstreamed.

    I have read a few threads where the controllers were added once the os was already installed, but not sure how that works. As you would have to install under ide in the bios

    ===========

    as for your link, I have already mentioned slipstreaming with nlite, as for part 2, I do not use any torrents. nor do I recommend them, but it is up to you either way .

    I have not heard of anyone using a flash drive to install sata at the F6 prompt, so you could try but like your link says it is not 100%.

    ==========

    look for a driver called sata controllers or raid controllers, or raid drivers.

    you can slipstream all your drivers if you like. and that cd is the drivers cd, you have to open it and see what is on the cd.
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2015
    Elizabeth23, Apr 7, 2015
    #34
  15. TheMaster26

    TheMaster26

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    I'll try slipstreaming the entire disc. Also, I checked out the mini windows xp and in the device manager, under hidden devices, I found partition manager with a yellow exclamation icon. I checked the properties and it said something about no drivers (code 24). The sp3 slipstreamed disc was supposed to have sata drivers on it but it still can't detect my hard drive; the xp setup scans it and even says it's 240gb but then it says setup can't continue. For my final attempt, I will use driverpacks( https://www.raymond.cc/blog/how-to-integrate-floppy-sata-raid-driver-into-windows-xp-cd/2/ ). And if that doesn't work I can't reinstall windows because it does not detect the hard drive.
     
    TheMaster26, Apr 7, 2015
    #35
  16. TheMaster26

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,745
    Likes Received:
    304
    Location:
    Florida
    Elizabeth23, Apr 7, 2015
    #36
  17. TheMaster26

    TheMaster26

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    How do i check the model etc.?
     
    TheMaster26, Apr 7, 2015
    #37
  18. TheMaster26

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,745
    Likes Received:
    304
    Location:
    Florida
    on the front of the computer, or if a laptop inside on the face somewhere, for example mine is a Dell DImension 3000
     
    Elizabeth23, Apr 7, 2015
    #38
  19. TheMaster26

    TheMaster26

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    I don't see any details on my desktop. Is there a way I can check it on the bios? And how do I reinstall the partition manager?
     
    TheMaster26, Apr 8, 2015
    #39
  20. TheMaster26

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,745
    Likes Received:
    304
    Location:
    Florida
    if you have booted to the minixp you can get online and download whichever program you had and have it installed on the os drive.

    the bios should have the info also,

    did your disk have the drivers??
     
    Elizabeth23, Apr 8, 2015
    #40
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.