Why cant I install XP on this old Dell ?

Discussion in 'Windows XP Installation and Setup' started by DonMurray, Jan 2, 2021.

  1. DonMurray

    DonMurray

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    DamageMYdell1.jpg dell4.jpg dell3.jpg

    I have never had problems like this installing XP. I may buy a cheap system board in put it in this case so I can install dell. THis was a top of the line system back in the day. I wish I could get XP to install and I do not know what the problem is. I purchaced 4 different dell install DISKS off of ebay. But htis did not fix the problem. It keeps saying it has detected something. I did a complete disk erase and that still wont let me install it. Anyone know why I can not get Xp to install ? is thier a bios setting that I could change so it wont detect what ever it thinks is wrong. ? Must be a way to get past this. Anyone know why this is coming up. I did just read what this said - and I will now try those things. What a pain. I have a used SOLID state disk im putting xp on So it appears this is not an issue with information being on the hard drive.
     
    DonMurray, Jan 2, 2021
    #1
    Samir likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  2. DonMurray

    DonMurray

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    So this happens when it XP stops at the place where it asks me to partition the hard drive. soon as I tell it to delete the partition it gives me this message above and the install stops in its tracks. I found a different video card and I am going to try again. It does give me hints that it has to do with bios settings in relation to memory so Im going to try these things as well. .
     
    DonMurray, Jan 2, 2021
    #2
    Samir likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  3. DonMurray

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,574
    Likes Received:
    552
    Location:
    Florida
    The blue screen error with “0x0000008E” as the error code and “KERNEL_MODE_EXCEPTION_NOT_HANDLED” as the error name (not necessarily displayed) can be caused by a RAM memory module that is faulty or incompatible with Windows XP.

    Above from HERE, scroll through
     
    Elizabeth23, Jan 3, 2021
    #3
    Samir likes this.
  4. DonMurray

    Connor McMahon

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2019
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    5
    Is that a Dimension E520? My brother has the same problem with his, but we tried to install XP via USB.
     
    Connor McMahon, Jan 31, 2021
    #4
    Samir likes this.
  5. DonMurray

    red

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2021
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    united kindom
    had this problem when setting up my old hp system turned out to be the hdd,took it out formatted it on another system and all was fine,sometimes its how many installs you have tried and kept getting the same screen :)~
     
    red, Apr 10, 2021
    #5
  6. DonMurray

    flavallee

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2020
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    68
    Location:
    Hillsborough county, Florida
    DonMurray:

    According to the service tag number(FJGHZB1) and express service code number(33828305149) on the label in your bottom image, you have THIS Dell Dimension 9200.

    It was originally purchased in October 2006 in the U.S. and has full driver support for Windows XP 32-bit and Windows Vista 32-bit/64-bit.

    Windows Vista wasn't released until November 2006, so I'm guessing yours came with Windows XP.
     
    flavallee, Apr 11, 2021
    #6
    Elizabeth23 likes this.
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.