Video Controller SW needed

Discussion in 'Windows XP Drivers' started by Hatboro, Apr 14, 2019.

1. Hatboro

Hatboro

Newbie here; My XP box: A Gateway M280E Convertible Notebook PC, running MS Windows XP Tablet PC Edition 2005, V. 2000, 32-bit OS. I'm in need of video drivers. Within "Device Manager / 'Other devices"...'Video Controller and Video Controller (VGA Compatible)' I have the ominous yellow question marks, + the message "The drivers for this device are not installed. (Code 28)" I tried to capture the drivers from Gateway's two System Recovery CD's, but what I need wasn't on them. I tried to capture the video drivers from Gateway's web site; they're not there. Various reviews of this chunky laptop say the video hardware is from Intel. At Intel's support pages, I found a download for GPU / VPU (Intel GMA900). It turns out that the GMA900 file dates back to 2005 and is still in use, so I downloaded it, but it's not functional on my Gateway. Maybe it is not compatible. I've downloaded MS generic VGA drivers, but the files don't come with an install wizard, so I'm stuck. Can anyone here give me some guidance?

Hatboro, Apr 14, 2019
  2. Hatboro

Elizabeth23

https://www.laptop-software.com/get...rtible-notebook-tablet-pc-windows-xp-drivers/

How To Find Drivers For An Unrecognized Device

1. Open Device Manager (Control Panel>System>Hardware>Device Manager)
    2. The hardware whose drivers are missing will appear as Unknown device, so it's easier to locate the device.
    3. Right click on the unknown device and click on Properties.
    4. Under the Properties window click on Details tab and select Device Instance Id from the drop down box.
    5. You should see a code similar to this

PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_27DC&SUBSYS_30868086
    &REV_01\4&1E46F438&0&40F0

6. The portion of the code highlighted in RED is the Vendor ID and the portion highlighted in GREEN is the Device ID. In this example:

Vendor ID = 8086
    Device ID = 27DC