Using multi-core CPU's with Windows XP

Discussion in 'Windows XP Help and Support' started by SmilinDoug, Nov 19, 2020 at 12:57 AM.

  1. SmilinDoug

    SmilinDoug

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2019
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Adirondacks of New York
    Do any of you use a multi core CPU's on your XP computer? I read where you have to change some settings in the BIOS to make it work. I haven't bought one yet, but I'm thinking about it. I'm using a single core AMD Sepron 2.2GHz, socket AM2+ CPU. The rest of the info is in my sig for my desktop.

    I'm using onboard video right now, but a friend of mine is sending me an old PCI Express video card. Once I try the video card and I feel that I might upgrade, I'll try another CPU. I'm just trying to get enough information as I can, before I start changing and adding stuff to this computer.

    Any help you guys and gals can give me will be much appreciated.

    I hope everyone is doing well!
     
    SmilinDoug, Nov 19, 2020 at 12:57 AM
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. SmilinDoug

    flavallee

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2020
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    Hillsborough county, Florida
    Windows XP Professional SP3 32-bit runs fine in my Dell OptiPlex 980 minitower which has:
    Intel Core i7-860 2.80 GHz quad core processor
    NVIDIA GeForce GT 730 2 GB PCI-E graphics card
     
    flavallee, Nov 19, 2020 at 4:46 PM
    #2
    SmilinDoug likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  3. SmilinDoug

    priscus

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2016
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    55
    When the first 64 bit CPU became available from AMD, I got one and assembled a machine using a MOBO from Abit. (Now long gone but they did aim their products at enthusiasts rather than the bulk manufacturers.) This was around 2005/2006. I ran 32 bit XP, and 64 bit S.u.S.E. Linux on the machine.

    When a dual core version of processor became available from AMD, (around the same clock speed) I replaced my single core with a dual core.

    The result was that XP programmes were running about 15% SLOWER on the dual core than they had been on the single core! Linux applications appeared to run neither faster or slower.

    I think I also found similar with Intel Core2 processors (different machine) though I have not documented performance data for the Intel machine.
     
    priscus, Nov 19, 2020 at 6:37 PM
    #3
    SmilinDoug likes this.
  4. SmilinDoug

    SmilinDoug

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2019
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Adirondacks of New York
    Thanks for the help guys! I'm looking at a quad-core AMD running at 3.0GHz that only costs $24.00'

    I'm mostly going to be gaming on this computer. I built it for LAN parties back in the early 2000's.
     
    SmilinDoug, Nov 19, 2020 at 9:11 PM
    #4
  5. SmilinDoug

    flavallee

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2020
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    Hillsborough county, Florida
    SmilinDoug:

    Is the ECS EliteGroup A780VM-M2 in your desktop specs the same motherboard that you plan to install an AMD 3.00 GHz quad core processor in?

    If you are, there are multiple AMD Phenom II X4 models which are supported.
     
    flavallee, Nov 20, 2020 at 1:20 AM
    #5
    SmilinDoug and Elizabeth23 like this.
  6. SmilinDoug

    SmilinDoug

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2019
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Adirondacks of New York
    Yes there are, but I don't want to spend that much money. I can't work because of a disability, and I'm trying to save as much as I can. Hopefully I'll be healthy again someday.
     
    SmilinDoug, Nov 21, 2020 at 12:19 AM
    #6
  7. SmilinDoug

    flavallee

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2020
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    Hillsborough county, Florida
    Which AMD 3.00 GHz quad core processor are you planning to install?
    I'm going to take a wild guess it's the AMD Athlon II X4 640 3.00 GHz quad core processor.

    The AMD Sempron LE-1250 2.20 GHz single core processor currently in your computer is a very weak one.
    Upgrading to any AMD 3.00 GHz quad core model would definitely be an improvement.

    cpu.JPG
     
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2020 at 4:34 AM
    flavallee, Nov 21, 2020 at 4:26 AM
    #7
  8. SmilinDoug

    Compaq_8200_Elite

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2017
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    11
    Compaq 8200 Elite I7-2600 3.4GHz Cores: 4 Threads: 8, dual boot XP-XP64 8gb ram
     
    Compaq_8200_Elite, Nov 23, 2020 at 5:06 PM
    #8
    Connor McMahon likes this.
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.