Using CD to repair OS

Discussion in 'Windows XP Help and Support' started by copiman, Mar 9, 2014.

  1. copiman

    copiman

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is it possible to use a disk that did not come with your computer to repair your computer? Here is the situation. I need to repair a Dell Dimension 2400 that has XP home on it. I have a disk that came with a Dell Dimension 3800 that has XP home edition on it. Again, I just want to do a repair, not an install. Will this work?
     
    copiman, Mar 9, 2014
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. copiman

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,007
    Likes Received:
    380
    Location:
    Florida
    you can use a home edition to repair, but if the pc is at sp3 then the repair cd has to be at the same service pack. If you can get a cd it would be better to save your data to a flash drive and reinstall rather than repair.
     
    Elizabeth23, Mar 10, 2014
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. copiman

    copiman

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you Elizabeth. The Cd is svc pack 2. The PC is svc pack 3. Guess I'll do a reinstall.
     
    copiman, Mar 10, 2014
    #3
  4. copiman

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,007
    Likes Received:
    380
    Location:
    Florida
    OR, you can slipstream sp3 into your installation cd, there are several ways to do this, I have my cd with sp3 slipstreamed in.
     
    Elizabeth23, Mar 10, 2014
    #4
  5. copiman

    copiman

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you. I'll take a look.

    Google is my bestes friend.
     
    copiman, Mar 10, 2014
    #5
  6. copiman

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,007
    Likes Received:
    380
    Location:
    Florida
    Elizabeth23, Feb 17, 2016
    #6
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.