Sound recorder app - Windows XP service Pack 3

Discussion in 'Windows XP Help and Support' started by Suyogya, Mar 11, 2021.

  1. Suyogya

    Suyogya

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2021
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hello all,

    I connected Mic to my Dell Vostro laptop which has Windows XP SP3 installed. I am trying to do some recording using the sound recorder app but the sound recording "Default device" taken on my laptop is "Realtek HD Audio Input" instead of the Mic that I connected, so basically it's recording my laptop audio and not audio from Mic.

    I tried to change the setting by going to the control panel but with no success. Could you pls let me know how can I fix this error?

    Earphones are working fine.

    Thank you!

    Pls, find pics attached for your reference.
    IMG-4054.jpg

    IMG-4055.jpg IMG-4056.jpg
     
    Suyogya, Mar 11, 2021
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Suyogya

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,636
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Florida
    what is the name and version number of this mic program?
     
    Elizabeth23, Mar 12, 2021
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Suyogya

    secpar

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2020
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    63
    This may be remedial information, but...

    The sound card is REALTEK. Sound has two modes: Input and Output.

    Inputs are "Line in" and "Microphone in"

    "Mic Line" needs a +40 dB boost. Line in comes in at "line level."

    Microphones will need the mic boost if they're not processed before coming into the computer, otherwise would be VERY quiet.

    Your laptop computer, likely has only 1 sound card that is integrated into the motherboard.

    If you're not getting any audio in, you'll need to check between sndvol32 and the realtek program (which could be accessed from your system tray, bottom right-hand corner where the clock normally is). Perhaps the microphone port is muted or not set for "mic boost."

    In my experience, the Realtek cards will use their own sound control program that needs to be used for volume. However, this does not rule out settings that can be found in "sndvol32" (open a Run window and type in sndvol32 and press enter).

    A few pics to help you navigate:
    sndvol32_1.png sndvol32_2.png sndvol32_3.png sndvol32_4.png

    You also have to check the volume record controls. Last two pics should guide you there.

    Hope this has constructively helped you.
     
    secpar, Mar 12, 2021
    #3
    Samir and Great Canadian Moose like this.
  4. Suyogya

    Lockherup

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2018
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    103
    I was going to say the same thing things. its sndvol32.exe .. turn the mic input on high.

    but my question is how do you get pictures inline ? I only get the box to add as attachment.
     
    Lockherup, Mar 12, 2021
    #4
  5. Suyogya

    secpar

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2020
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    63
    Phase 1: Upload/attach first.
    Phase 2:
    Phase 3: Profit!
     
    secpar, Mar 12, 2021
    #5
    Lockherup likes this.
  6. Suyogya

    Lockherup

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2018
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    103
    ok thanks.. just working on my new profile picture to keep up with the times

    kamala.jpg
     
    Lockherup, Mar 12, 2021
    #6
  7. Suyogya

    secpar

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2020
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    63
    Nightmare fuel.
     
    secpar, Mar 12, 2021
    #7
    Samir likes this.
  8. Suyogya

    Suyogya

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2021
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hi pls find details below:

    IMG-4058.jpg
     
    Suyogya, Mar 12, 2021
    #8
  9. Suyogya

    Suyogya

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2021
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hello Secpar,

    Thank you so much for sharing the details. Yes, I followed the steps that you mentioned and it all worked.
    You guys are doing a great job by helping people who still use Windows XP.
    Pls keep up the good work.
     
    Suyogya, Mar 12, 2021
    #9
    Samir likes this.
  10. Suyogya

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,636
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Florida
    so the issue is solved? :)
     
    Elizabeth23, Mar 12, 2021
    #10
  11. Suyogya

    Suyogya

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2021
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    4
    Yes it’s solved. Thank you so much for all the great work.
     
    Suyogya, Mar 12, 2021
    #11
    Samir likes this.
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.