So Sims 3 is saying I need shader model 2 at least to play. Yet I have Direct X 9c installed.

Discussion in 'Windows XP Games' started by DK59, Dec 18, 2018.

  1. DK59

    DK59

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2018
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    7
    What’s going on here this should be the only thing that’s missing from starting up the sims 3. I have the minimum amount of requirements and a little extra, basically just the ram is still only 2gb, but sims 3 won’t start
     
    DK59, Dec 18, 2018
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. DK59

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,752
    Likes Received:
    646
    Location:
    Florida
    Elizabeth23, Dec 18, 2018
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. DK59

    DK59

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2018
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    7
    DK59, Dec 19, 2018
    #3
  4. DK59

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,752
    Likes Received:
    646
    Location:
    Florida
    :eek::eek::eek:
     
    Elizabeth23, Dec 19, 2018
    #4
  5. DK59

    DerpyTails

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    I ran Sims 3 on my XPS 210 and it ran with some Stutters, but it was fine on my end (Using a Intel G965). The only problem that I have with the game is I can't get Custom Content from thesims3.com to work due to the Page not loading (which blows as I wanted to play with LGR)
     
    DerpyTails, Jun 9, 2019
    #5
  6. DK59

    krauzer

    Joined:
    May 28, 2021
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    3
    Pixel shader has nothing to do with Direct X. For old motherboards with single core CPU you need at least a GeForce 5200 for pixel shader 2.0 support or at least GeForce 6200 for pixel shader 2.0/3.0 support.
     
    krauzer, May 3, 2022
    #6
  7. DK59

    MisterEd

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2022
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    22
    Here are the The Sims 3 System Requirements (Minimum)
    • CPU: Pentium 4 processor or equivalent
    • CPU SPEED: For XP 2.0 GHz Pentium 4 processor or equivalent; For Windows Vista and Windows 7 2.4 GHz Pentium 4 processor or equivalent
    • RAM: For XP 1 GB RAM / Windows Vista and Windows 7 1.5 GB RAM (For NVIDIA ION computers, the game requires at least 2.0 GB RAM)
    • OS: XP SP2 / Vista SP1 / Windows 7
    • VIDEO CARD: 128 MB Video Card with support for Pixel Shader 2.0 [Nvidia GeForce 6 series or better (GeForce 6100 and 7100 cards are not supported), and all NVidia G, GT, GTS, and GTX video cards. ATI Radeon series card 9500 series or better, and all ATI X, X1, and HD video cards; Intel Graphics Media Accelerator (GMA): GMA 3-Series, GMA 4-Series]
    • TOTAL VIDEO RAM: 128 MB
    • PIXEL SHADER: 2.0
    • FREE DISK SPACE: At least 3.5 GB of hard drive space with at least 1 GB additional space for custom content and saved games

    The Sims 3 System Requirements
    https://www.systemrequirementslab.com/cyri/requirements/the-sims-3/10845
     
    MisterEd, May 14, 2022
    #7
  8. DK59

    MisterEd

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2022
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    22
    I tested The Sims 3 on this computer:

    CPU: AMD Athlon XP 2400+
    MBD: ASUS A7V400-MX
    RAM: 512MB DDR
    GPU: See below
    OS: Windows XP Professional

    The Sims 3 works?
    GeForce 4 Ti 4600: No. Needs Shader Model: 2.0
    GeForce 5 FX 5900: Yes
    GeForce 6 6200: Yes

    NVIDIA GeForce 4 Ti 4600 AGP
    RAM: 128 MB
    Pixel Shader: 1.3
    Vertex Shader: 1.1

    NVIDIA GeForce 5 FX 5900 AGP
    RAM: 128 MB
    Pixel Shader: 2.0a
    Vertex Shader: 2.0a

    NVIDIA GeForce 6 6200 AGP
    RAM: 256 MB
    Shader Model: 3.0

    Desktop Graphics Card Compatibility and Recommendations
    https://modthesims.info/wiki.php?title=Game_Help:System_Requirements/MTS2_Recommendations
     
    MisterEd, May 14, 2022
    #8
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.