Sata drives not detected while IDE drive connected

Discussion in 'Windows XP Hardware' started by ImWolf, Mar 15, 2019 at 9:29 PM.

  1. ImWolf

    ImWolf

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    My system has 2 WD Sata drives on Sata 0 & 1, an IDE Seagate drive on IDE 1 master, and a Teac CDRW on IDE 2 master. WinXP home is installed on the Sata 0 drive, and Linux Mint 19.1 is installed on the IDE HDD.

    Recently, I had yet another loose Sata cable crash which as some of you may know can be very time consuming to correct.

    So first, I opened the case and replaced those Sata cables with some new Sata3 cables I had just purchased to have on hand next time this occurred. The new cables fit very tight so I was happy that I would hopefully never need deal with this scenario again.

    Then I needed to boot off my WinXP install cd to access the file system and copy corrupted config files, so as is my normal habit I disconnect any drives that I don't want to accidentally affect.... which in this case was only the IDE drive with Linux Mint on it. The machine booted normally, detected both the Sata drives, and I completed the file management and confirmed that WinXP was now booting normally.

    Lastly, I reconnected the IDE drive to confirm that the dual boot menu (on IDE MBR) would come up normally and allow me to boot either OS, but neither of the Sata drives were detected by BIOS. When I disconnect the IDE drive and restart, then the Sata drives appear again.

    As I understand it, the new Sata3 cables are supposed to be downward compatible with all previous drives and MB ports, and should work even if that drive isn't capable of delivering the faster speeds that Sata3 cables are designed to allow. Anyway, I ended up having to replace the new Sata3 cables with the old ones that eventually come loose and cause system crashes.

    Any input would be appreciated!

    Wolf
     
    ImWolf, Mar 15, 2019 at 9:29 PM
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. ImWolf

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,745
    Likes Received:
    302
    Location:
    Florida
    stick the cables down with a piece of tape or something so that they won't come loose, :)
     
    Elizabeth23, Mar 15, 2019 at 10:58 PM
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. ImWolf

    ImWolf

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    I've read plenty of articles regarding folks trying to deal with crappy Sata cables using tape, rubber bands, and even glue. I really don't want to hold my machine together with bungee cords, and even if I did that doesn't explain why the cables only work if there is no IDE device also attached to the MB.

    Thanks anyway :b
     
    ImWolf, Mar 18, 2019 at 6:58 PM
    #3
  4. ImWolf

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,745
    Likes Received:
    302
    Location:
    Florida
    maybe someone will have an answer for you, :)
     
    Elizabeth23, Mar 18, 2019 at 7:00 PM
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.