reinstall bootloader for windows with main partition "D"

Discussion in 'Windows XP Installation and Setup' started by vinci, Apr 23, 2014.

  1. vinci

    vinci

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    My bootloader and mbr instructions are on one hdd, while Windows proper in on the other.

    What I did was simply to disconnect altogether (just to be sure) the first hdd and then inserted a rescue cd with windows XP. I entered the console and tried to rebuild the bootloader with bootcfg /rebuild, but I didn't work. It said I needed to use chkdsk, which I did (with /r argument). I entered the rebuild command again. The same thing. Then I tried to fix my mbr (fixmbr), which it said it worked fine. Then I typed in the bootcfg /rebuild again - still the same thing.

    I should probably add that windows on the partition D, while partition C belongs to the hdd that has the bootloader (and the correct mbr), and I have a feeling that might have something to do with it.

    Moreover, I've also tinkered with partition wizard in order to cut down on the number of partitions (there were so many! - it's not my computer), and I think that might have something to do with it, too?

    Anyway, the point is, Windows works fine with the hdd that has the correct bootloader. But I need to get rid of it, as it's an 80GB hdd, old, and it seems to crash once in a while, prompting the computer to restart.

    I am impatently waiting for your suggestions!
     
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2014
    vinci, Apr 23, 2014
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. vinci

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,364
    Likes Received:
    495
    Location:
    Florida
    you should really back up your data and reinstall the os so it and the boot mbr are on c as is proper.
     
    Elizabeth23, Apr 23, 2014
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. vinci

    vinci

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    but

    Well, yeah, of course, that's the last solution. But I'd still want to use the current OS. Is there anything I can do about it? :)

    (now I'm thinking about copying the partition only with acronis true image, installing the OS - so that the bootloader is fixed - and then pouring the acronis image on the windows partition)
     
    vinci, Apr 23, 2014
    #3
  4. vinci

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,364
    Likes Received:
    495
    Location:
    Florida
    that should do it, and then you can delete the partition that had the original os on it.
     
    Elizabeth23, Apr 24, 2014
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.