Problems with Taito Legends

Discussion in 'Windows XP Games' started by RetorMajo, Apr 7, 2022.

  1. RetorMajo

    RetorMajo

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2021
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello, when I try to play games on Taito Legends, it always crashes. Everything goes normal, I get the title screen, I get the list of games, and the menu options of each game, but when I select "Start Game", the game shows the controller bindings and shortly after that, I get this message
    upload_2022-4-6_21-50-34.png
    When I click the "more details part, I get this
    upload_2022-4-6_21-51-25.png
    Also there's a text file called 8918_appcompat on the Temp folder:
    Code:
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-16"?>
    <DATABASE>
    <EXE NAME="Taito.exe" FILTER="GRABMI_FILTER_PRIVACY">
        <MATCHING_FILE NAME="deviance.exe" SIZE="152576" CHECKSUM="0x2F100300" MODULE_TYPE="WIN32" PE_CHECKSUM="0x0" LINKER_VERSION="0x0" LINK_DATE="09/13/2005 01:25:24" UPTO_LINK_DATE="09/13/2005 01:25:24" />
        <MATCHING_FILE NAME="getkey.dll" SIZE="139264" CHECKSUM="0xDF778B6A" MODULE_TYPE="WIN32" PE_CHECKSUM="0x0" LINKER_VERSION="0x0" LINK_DATE="09/19/2003 13:28:04" UPTO_LINK_DATE="09/19/2003 13:28:04" />
        <MATCHING_FILE NAME="Taito.exe" SIZE="1794048" CHECKSUM="0x2E545BA" MODULE_TYPE="WIN32" PE_CHECKSUM="0x0" LINKER_VERSION="0x0" LINK_DATE="03/07/1970 10:30:28" UPTO_LINK_DATE="03/07/1970 10:30:28" />
    </EXE>
    <EXE NAME="d3d9.dll" FILTER="GRABMI_FILTER_THISFILEONLY">
        <MATCHING_FILE NAME="d3d9.dll" SIZE="1689088" CHECKSUM="0x9324153F" BIN_FILE_VERSION="5.3.2600.5512" BIN_PRODUCT_VERSION="5.3.2600.5512" PRODUCT_VERSION="5.03.2600.5512" FILE_DESCRIPTION="Microsoft Direct3D" COMPANY_NAME="Microsoft Corporation" PRODUCT_NAME="Microsoft® Windows® Operating System" FILE_VERSION="5.03.2600.5512 (xpsp.080413-0845)" ORIGINAL_FILENAME="D3D9.dll" INTERNAL_NAME="D3D9.dll" LEGAL_COPYRIGHT="© Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved." VERFILEDATEHI="0x0" VERFILEDATELO="0x0" VERFILEOS="0x40004" VERFILETYPE="0x2" MODULE_TYPE="WIN32" PE_CHECKSUM="0x1A5898" LINKER_VERSION="0x50001" UPTO_BIN_FILE_VERSION="5.3.2600.5512" UPTO_BIN_PRODUCT_VERSION="5.3.2600.5512" LINK_DATE="04/14/2008 02:16:29" UPTO_LINK_DATE="04/14/2008 02:16:29" VER_LANGUAGE="Inglés (Estados Unidos) [0x409]" />
    </EXE>
    <EXE NAME="kernel32.dll" FILTER="GRABMI_FILTER_THISFILEONLY">
        <MATCHING_FILE NAME="kernel32.dll" SIZE="1042944" CHECKSUM="0x754CE9C7" BIN_FILE_VERSION="5.1.2600.5512" BIN_PRODUCT_VERSION="5.1.2600.5512" PRODUCT_VERSION="5.1.2600.5512" FILE_DESCRIPTION="DLL de cliente API BASE de Windows NT" COMPANY_NAME="Microsoft Corporation" PRODUCT_NAME="Sistema operativo Microsoft® Windows®" FILE_VERSION="5.1.2600.5512 (xpsp.080413-2111)" ORIGINAL_FILENAME="kernel32" INTERNAL_NAME="kernel32" LEGAL_COPYRIGHT="Copyright (C) Microsoft Corporation. Reservados todos los derechos." VERFILEDATEHI="0x0" VERFILEDATELO="0x0" VERFILEOS="0x40004" VERFILETYPE="0x2" MODULE_TYPE="WIN32" PE_CHECKSUM="0x1013F4" LINKER_VERSION="0x50001" UPTO_BIN_FILE_VERSION="5.1.2600.5512" UPTO_BIN_PRODUCT_VERSION="5.1.2600.5512" LINK_DATE="04/14/2008 02:17:59" UPTO_LINK_DATE="04/14/2008 02:17:59" VER_LANGUAGE="Español (alfabetización internacional) [0xc0a]" />
    </EXE>
    </DATABASE>
    
    There's a way to fix this? DO I have to Install something, Your help will be welcome.
    My PC specs:
    Code:
    Operating System
       Windows XP Professional 32-bit SP3
    CPU
       Intel Pentium 4 631
       Cedar Mill 65nm Technology
    RAM
       1.00GB Single-Channel DDR2 @ 332MHz (5-5-5-15)
    Motherboard
       Intel 945GCT-M (CPU 1)   39 °C
    Graphics
       W1943 ([email protected])
       W1943 ([email protected])
       Intel 82945G Express Chipset Family (Elitegroup)
    Storage
       298GB Seagate ST3320820SCE (SATA Consumer Electronics )   41 °C
    Optical Drives
       HL-DT-ST DVD-RAM GH22NS30
    Audio
       IDT High Definition Audio CODEC
    
    Also I've DirectX installed on my PC, I'm able to run Touhou with no problems (I had problems with text and sprites previously)
    upload_2022-4-6_22-17-53.png
    upload_2022-4-6_22-18-14.png
    and Pac-Man World 3 with some lag (funny enough that it crashes when I close it via Alt+F4, exiting with the intended way doesn't crash it), perhaps that Pac-Man World 3 is a 3D, more powerful game so I don't understand why an arcade emulator doesn't work while a more powerful 3D game does.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Apr 7, 2022
    RetorMajo, Apr 7, 2022
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. RetorMajo

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,711
    Likes Received:
    598
    Location:
    Florida
    what did you install or do just before issue occurred?
    did the program update itself to a newer version that will not run on xp?
    can you restore your system to the date it was working?
     
    Elizabeth23, Apr 7, 2022
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. RetorMajo

    RetorMajo

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2021
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've downloaded this from the internet, so I don't think this was updated. Also when I tried it for the first time it also crashed
     
    RetorMajo, Apr 7, 2022
    #3
  4. RetorMajo

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,711
    Likes Received:
    598
    Location:
    Florida
    then remove it and download an earlier version. :)
     
    Elizabeth23, Apr 8, 2022
    #4
  5. RetorMajo

    ClippyBeer

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2019
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    262
    Location:
    At the pub
    Taito Legends for PC comes with Starforce DRM so that's probably why it won't work. M.A.M.E. is what you should be using for retro arcade gaming, no DRM and works on Windows 98, XP, 7, 8 and 10. I checked the games that come with Taito Legends and I have all of them in my M.A.M.E. installation.
     
    ClippyBeer, Apr 8, 2022
    #5
    Elizabeth23 likes this.
  6. RetorMajo

    RetorMajo

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2021
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks dude, I'll try using M.A.M.E. instead of Taito Legends, you deserve a star!
    Also I've heard that Starforce DRM sucked because their DRM corrupted Windows 7 or something, I was lucky of getting the cripped version instead of an ISO version!
     
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2022
    RetorMajo, Apr 8, 2022
    #6
  7. RetorMajo

    ClippyBeer

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2019
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    262
    Location:
    At the pub
    Yes Starforce was known for causing BSOD on Windows 7 & higher, probably why is was discontinued. There were plenty of these arcade compilations released by Taito/Atari etc. and I even remember seeing some cracked DRM-free versions on the warez boards back in the day.

    I already had all those games in M.A.M.E. so never bother to download them. M.A.M.E. requires no installation for Windows, can be run from USB flash drive, no dependencies except having the ROM files for the games which are easily obtainable.

    I still play the same M.A.M.E. software in WIndows 10 that I had on Windows 98.
     
    ClippyBeer, Apr 9, 2022
    #7
  8. RetorMajo

    krauzer

    Joined:
    May 28, 2021
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    3
    d3d9.dll and graphical glitches means you're lacking offboard vga resources. Games that require a minimum vertex shader 2.0 and pixel shader 2.0 give errors like those. I have tested Taito Legends 1 and Taito Legends 2 and both works on Windows XP. You can use MAME if you want but certain games like Elevator Action Returns will probably lag on MAME as it will need more resources to run from MAME.
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2022
    krauzer, May 3, 2022
    #8
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.