Problem with MsMpEng.exe and svchost.exe

Discussion in 'Windows XP Help and Support' started by Aleksandar021, Feb 3, 2013.

  1. Aleksandar021

    Aleksandar021

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Novi Sad, Serbia
    this 'program' or process, often is using CPU usage over 50%, sometimes 99-100%, can't understand why, every time when i open (for example) Picture folder, 'MsMpEng' starts to use over 50% of CPU, don't understand what the hell is he doing every time when i open some folder?

    don't have viruses, or anything, every week i scan my PC with Malwarebytes, and with MSE, never show that i have some spyware or virus. that's why i don't get it, why is it using so much CPU.

    the same problem with svchost.exe, when it starts to use over 90% of CPU, it will use 90% and more for around 10 minutes, and then it's just drop down i everything is normal.

    but, still don't understand why is that happening? please help :confused:
     
    Aleksandar021, Feb 3, 2013
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Aleksandar021

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,165
    Likes Received:
    446
    Location:
    Florida
    Any security software still installed?

    A possible reason for this problem is that you have conflicting security software installed fully or partially on the PC. Remove all other security software from the PC.

    You may need to use a cleanup tool to remove your prior security software:

    http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=5201
    MSE Download

    http://experts.windows.com/w/experts_wiki/89.aspx
    MSE installation checklist

    If that fails to resolve the problem, open an email support case:

    To open an email support case, start here:

    https://support.microsoftsecurityessentials.com/

    ----------------------------------------------------

    if above does not resolve the svchost problem go here and follow instructions

    http://www.technibble.com/how-to-fix-svchost-using-100-cpu-memory-leak/
     
    Elizabeth23, Feb 3, 2013
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Aleksandar021

    Aleksandar021

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Novi Sad, Serbia
    hi, and thank you for replay. :)

    i don't use any other security software, and don't have any other security software, except the MSE and Malwarebytes, but, Malwarebytes is not on 'real time', only MSE. i downloaded MSE from Microsoft site when i installed Windows XP.
    maybe to try uninstall MSE :/ don't know...

    and, i tried that for svchost, and it didn't work... that's why I've registered here, and asked you, couldn't find anything that will help me to resolve my problems :/
     
    Aleksandar021, Feb 3, 2013
    #3
  4. Aleksandar021

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,165
    Likes Received:
    446
    Location:
    Florida
    have you ever had other antivirus installed?

    if so, even if you think they are gone, run their removal tool, which can be found though a link in the checklist
     
    Elizabeth23, Feb 3, 2013
    #4
  5. Aleksandar021

    Aleksandar021

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Novi Sad, Serbia
    yes, 3 years ago, but, since then, i re-installed windows over 10 times, and had Windows 7 for over a 1 yer, 3 months ago i returned to Windows XP, when i installed it i went on Microsoft site and downloaded MSE, i didn't installed any other antivirus since 3 years ago, and i had windows 7 for over 1 year, and i used MSE, but i returned to Windows XP because of single core processor, and now using Windows XP, didn't installed any other antivirus except MSE. i'm doing re-install of Windows every 6-12 months.
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2013
    Aleksandar021, Feb 3, 2013
    #5
  6. Aleksandar021

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,165
    Likes Received:
    446
    Location:
    Florida
    then I woould run checkdisk to ensure that all is well, if your installation cd is at sp3, then you can insert it restart, and choose R at the setup menu and run chkdsk c: /r

    let run till finished, if your installation cd is not at sp3, then burn a copy of Hiren's boot cd and run checkdisk from there.

    Courtesy of Jose Ibarra:
    Anywho, to make a Hiren's boot CD, do this:

    I am going to recommend you use Hiren's boot CD (it will also go on a USB drive).

    This is good for you because it has many more tools on it that on the XP Recovery Console CD, does not care about your Administrator passwords and you will not have to futz around in your BIOS if any afflicted system has SATA drives - Hiren's can deal with that.

    You will have a whole bunch of cool tools that you don't have in the XP Recovery Console... a registry editor, password resetter, and a desktop that looks like Windows XP so you will feel comfortable maneuvering.

    You can also easily copy your personal data (documents, images, music.) to an external drive.

    From a working system, first download Hiren's Boot CD from here (it is a substantial download but worth it):

    http://www.hirensbootcd.org/download/ (look near the bottom of the page, do not click on any ads).
    http://www.hirensbootcd.org/burning/
    Instructions

    Unzip the Hiren's to some folder where you can find it. There is a Hiren's.BootCD..iso in there that you are going to need next.

    Hiren's has instructions to make a bootable USB that you can use, but it requires you to first burn the .iso to a CD and some other steps, so I suggest another way...

    Download RUFUS 1.20 from here (read some stuff on the page so you can know more about it):

    http://rufus.akeo.ie/

    I will caution you to be careful that you don't accidentally format any of your hard drives - be sure your USB stick is in and know what the drive letter is! This part always makes me a little nervous, so be careful.

    Launch RUFUS and all the defaults should be okay, for the Device, choose your USB drive letter, Quick format, FAT32, label it if you want to and in the Format options box, click the little icon that looks like a CD and a window will open. Navigate that dialogue to point to the folder that contains the Hiren's.BootCD.15.iso that you unzipped earlier and the box should change to say ISO image (RUFUS understands the Hiren's ISO file).

    Double check you have the right Device selected in the top (NOT you HDD) Click Start, acknowledge the warning and let it finish (it will take a little while) as it copies the files. The Hiren's ISO is also good size.

    When RUFUS is done, it will say 'DONE' in the bottom.

    Put the USB stick in the afflicted machine and reset/reboot and press whatever key you need to press to get to a boot menu where you can select the USB as the first boot device (that is F11 for me). If you don't see a boot menu choice, you will have to adjust your BIOS to boot from the USB first instead of the HDD.

    When the Hiren's menu comes up, choose the Mini XP Mode and it will start loading (slowly from a USB drive) and eventually you should see a Windowsy looking desktop. You should recognize that part and feel comfortable, but it is not your desktop - it is the Hiren's desktop!

    Remember: You did not boot on your hard disk - you booted into the Hiren's desktop


    http://www.hiren.info/pages/bootcd-on-usb-disk
    Hiren’s for flash drive
     
    Elizabeth23, Feb 3, 2013
    #6
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.