Problem using a projector with XP-Pro

Discussion in 'Windows XP Hardware' started by Ken_A1, Jun 28, 2017.

  1. Ken_A1

    Ken_A1

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    This is my first post on this forum.
    My apologies if I have selected the wrong sub-section.

    Anyway, I have just re-installed XP-Pro on an old Sony laptop model VGN-S3HP.
    Everything is working correctly.

    I want to use it with an Acer projector, model P1206. I should mention that
    before the re-install it worked fine with this projector.

    But now I cannot get any image to display on the projector -- the projector scans
    all its ports then always says No Signal.

    I am sure the cable is OK, because when I restart the laptop with projector
    connected the initial Windows opening screen is briefly correctly displayed.

    I have used the control panel display panel to search for driver updates, but
    after a long search it reports that installed drivers are up to date. There is a
    CD with the projector, but no drivers on it.

    Can anyone offer any advice? Many thanks, Ken
     
    Ken_A1, Jun 28, 2017
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Ken_A1

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,840
    Likes Received:
    320
    Location:
    Florida
    Elizabeth23, Jun 28, 2017
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Ken_A1

    Ken_A1

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, I have done that.
    All that the website offers is a Quick Start Guide and a User Manual, both of which I have.
    There are no drivers.
     
    Ken_A1, Jun 28, 2017
    #3
  4. Ken_A1

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,840
    Likes Received:
    320
    Location:
    Florida
    https://www.google.com/#q=no+signal+on+my+acer+projector,+xp

    do any of the threads above help for this issue??

    can you plug a flash drive to the ports and are they recognized??

    you might run checkdisk and see if that can resolve the issue:


    http://forums.whatthetech.com/index.php?showtopic=102348

    How to perform checkdisk

    if you do not have Recovery Console installed, then run from the start menu

    go to start, run, type in cmd

    in cmd type in chkdsk c: /r and press enter, space between k/c and :and /

    type Y for yes and press enter

    type exit and press enter

    restart pc, allow checkdisk to finish and run again

    this is a lengthy process depending on the size of your harddrive, the percentages will fluctuate, this is normal, you can view report in the event viewer.

    go to start>run> and type in eventvwr.msc, click on the applications directory, and in the right hand panel choose winlogon.
     
    Elizabeth23, Jun 29, 2017
    #4
  5. Ken_A1

    Ken_A1

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,
    I have tried several suggestions from your links, none of which worked.
    However, problem now SOLVED!
    I right-click on desktop, select Nvidia Control Panel, and select the Clone option, and Apply.
    Then the laptop display appears on the projector.
    I've never used this method before, so have no idea why I have to do it this way now.
    [ Why does it have to be so difficult? -- and I'm an engineer by profession. I guess
    that's the downside of using old XP ]
    Apologies for the gripe, and thanks for your help. Ken.
     
    Ken_A1, Jun 29, 2017
    #5
  6. Ken_A1

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,840
    Likes Received:
    320
    Location:
    Florida
    Elizabeth23, Jun 29, 2017
    #6
  7. Ken_A1

    Ken_A1

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I have said Yes to all automatic updates, and it I recall that it spent quite a long time
    on restart installing updates.
     
    Ken_A1, Jun 29, 2017
    #7
  8. Ken_A1

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,840
    Likes Received:
    320
    Location:
    Florida
    sometimes I have a prob with microsoft updates, but I have all the updates in my cache folder for Portable Updates and I generally run this before I go to microsoft updates, and not I am checking microsoft update center for latest xp updates that are not available at the microsoft updates website. :)
     
    Elizabeth23, Jul 1, 2017
    #8
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.