One Of 2 Cd Drives, Plays But Has One No Volume

Discussion in 'Windows XP Hardware' started by jim davis, Aug 23, 2017.

  1. jim davis

    jim davis

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2017
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    89
    Location:
    a front lawn
    As it turns out i fixed this as i started this thread, I hit the desktop tray volume icon, which was set at full volume.

    then clicked it some how and
    I got a panel of stuff, volume synth, wave etc controls, things that should have never even hit the market as user available, except for Admin folks, and even then almost never need tuning.

    SOME HOW THE CD PLAYER volume for that drive reset it self to mute

    Does anyone know why some controls have so little stability and reset them selves.

    and what can one do to turn the psycho geek of xp to greater stability.

    thanks
     
    jim davis, Aug 23, 2017
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. jim davis

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,917
    Likes Received:
    347
    Location:
    Florida
    do not know how something as the properties of the sound card should accidentally get muted. seems like a strange kind of thing to happen. :eek:
     
    Elizabeth23, Aug 23, 2017
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. jim davis

    jim davis

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2017
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    89
    Location:
    a front lawn
    a few days before NOAH went to the hardware store to buy nails for his boat, I bought this machine, sometimes the disk drive sounds like someone scrapping a snow shovel across a dry side walk.

    little tiny adjustments change sometimes, what is that you think????
     
    jim davis, Aug 24, 2017
    #3
  4. jim davis

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,917
    Likes Received:
    347
    Location:
    Florida
    maybe the drive is going bad, have you run checkdisk? if there are any kb's in bad sectors that is a sign that the drive is going bad, as for the cd drive, I haven't a clue, :)
     
    Elizabeth23, Aug 24, 2017
    #4
  5. jim davis

    jim davis

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2017
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    89
    Location:
    a front lawn
    Elizabeth thank you for your good will in explaining much of this.
    the common thought on this is I am losing settings because the hard drive is
    going bad.
    I have run ck disk and it shows no bad sectors.
    but my personal setting are changing on their own,
    I will pursue a new disk drive, a repair I know guy says he can put in a used 80 GB drive and change over the program to it.
     
    jim davis, Sep 1, 2017
    #5
  6. jim davis

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,917
    Likes Received:
    347
    Location:
    Florida
    okey dokey
     
    Elizabeth23, Sep 1, 2017
    #6
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.