Old files on seperate partition

Discussion in 'Windows XP Help and Support' started by simono, Jan 2, 2012.

  1. simono

    simono

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a used laptop that has been used for buissness. It has 5 accounts and I can only use 2 because of password protection. I had no admin rights and could do anything on it. I have a disk that I used to install xp on the D: because I figured it wouldn't let me wipe clean the C: to do a fresh install.

    Now that I've installed a working version on the D:, I would like to get-rid of all the old files on the C:. I deleted some of the non important files but can't delete the rest because of the protected files. I thought about this some more and it probably for the best because, are the boot files there... or do I have them with my new install on the D:?

    I would like to remove these old files if possible. Also, I have learned about computers starting from Windows Vista and rarely visit XP.

    Thanks,

    Todd
     
    simono, Jan 2, 2012
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. simono

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,125
    Likes Received:
    430
    Location:
    Florida
    whenever you get a used pc, it is best to do a clean install, and put your os on the c drive if you desire to create more than one partition.

    below are some instructional sites on doing a clean install, just remember that windows updates will not work without sp3 so you will have to download the sps to a flash drive or cd and install after you have installed your os.

    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows-xp/help/setup/install-windows-xp
    http://www.windowsxphome.windowsreinstall.com/sp2installxpcdoldhdd/indexfullpage.htm
    http://aumha.net/viewtopic.php?f=62&t=44636
    Clean installs of XP sites

    http://www.windowsreinstall.com/winxpmce/installxpmcecdoldhdd/indexthumbnails.htm
    XP Media Center reinstallations
    ------------------------------------------------

    Courtesy of Tricky 300

    If you were already at service pack 1, 1A or 2, you can install SP3, but before you do, read this article…
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/950717
    …and if your PC is an HP Pavilion, Presario or Media Center and has an AMD processor you need to install this patch before installing SP3…
    http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/softwareDownloadIndex?cc=uk&lc=en&dlc=en&softwareitem=pv-60484-2
    Install SP3 by downloading and running from...
    http://www.microsoft.com/download/en/details.aspx?displaylang=en&id=24
    …again, you can ignore the text that says that it is for network installations and also ignore the text advising Windows/Microsoft Update if only updating one PC.
    Then try and get up to date with Windows Updates via the Start menu.
     
    Elizabeth23, Mar 5, 2013
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. simono

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,125
    Likes Received:
    430
    Location:
    Florida
    Elizabeth23, Feb 17, 2016
    #3
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.