No More Updates??

Discussion in 'Windows XP Help and Support' started by JuneSPark, Sep 2, 2013.

  1. JuneSPark

    JuneSPark

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I still have an older laptop with XP. Today I decided to clean it up with a format and reinstall. After the reinstall, one of the first things I do is check for and install any Windows updates. Typically there's a long list of them. But this time, no update notifications are popping up. And if I manually click on Windows/Microsoft Update, then it just gets stuck during the "checking for updates" step. What gives?
     
    JuneSPark, Sep 2, 2013
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. JuneSPark

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,321
    Likes Received:
    478
    Location:
    Florida
    sp3 must be installed manually before Microsoft updates will work. read the following and install the patch first if you have this type of pc:

    Courtesy of Tricky 300

    Before you install SP3 read this article…
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/950717
    …and if your PC is an HP Pavilion, Presario or Media Center and has an AMD processor you need to install this patch before installing SP3…
    http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/softwareDownloadIndex?cc=uk&lc=en&dlc=en&softwareitem=pv-60484-2
    …to find out if you have an AMD processor...
    • Hold down the Windows key (between Ctrl and Alt) and hit the Pause Break key
    • Your processor type is shown in the Computer: section
    Then install SP3 by downloading and running from...
    http://www.microsoft.com/download/en/details.aspx?displaylang=en&id=24
    …you can ignore the text that says that it is for network installations and also ignore the text advising Windows/Microsoft Update if only updating one PC.
    Reboot twice after installing.
     
    Elizabeth23, Sep 3, 2013
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. JuneSPark

    BSquared18

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just received an update notice. Don't know what's happening with you.

    Bill
     
    BSquared18, Sep 15, 2013
    #3
  4. JuneSPark

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,321
    Likes Received:
    478
    Location:
    Florida
    if you are on sp3 and have automatic updates on then you will receive notices of updates, but not if sp3 has yet to be installed.
     
    Elizabeth23, Sep 16, 2013
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.