New hard drive causing headaches.

Discussion in 'Windows XP Installation and Setup' started by dennistomlin, Sep 26, 2020.

  1. dennistomlin

    dennistomlin

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have an old HP Pavilion laptop running windows xp and I am trying to update it with a new hard drive. After I install the new hard drive (Western Digital Blue 250gb pata) I try to install the operating system. I have 6 floppy disks that I run through and then it calls for me to insert the installation disk with windows xp sp2. I have an installation disk but it only has xp sp1 and it will not continue with the installation. Is there a way around this or do I have to clone the old hard drive to the new one.
     
    dennistomlin, Sep 26, 2020
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. dennistomlin

    ClippyBeer

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2019
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    At the pub
    Those floppy disks are not going to install XP, they merely prep your system so XP can be installed from the CD-ROM in case your PC doesn't support booting from CD (XP is not available on diskettes). Since you don't appear to have the correct installation diskettes imaging your old drive to the new one would be your only option.
     
    ClippyBeer, Sep 26, 2020
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. dennistomlin

    dennistomlin

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    How would I go about cloning the hard drive? I have cloning hardware but it only works on sata hard drives. XP is on an IDE hard drive.
     
    dennistomlin, Sep 26, 2020
    #3
  4. dennistomlin

    ClippyBeer

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2019
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    At the pub
    ClippyBeer, Sep 27, 2020
    #4
  5. dennistomlin

    cornemuse

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2016
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    141
    cornemuse, Sep 27, 2020
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.