Multiple Copies of XP

Discussion in 'Windows XP General Discussion' started by GeorgeLawshe, Oct 21, 2016.

  1. GeorgeLawshe

    GeorgeLawshe

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I reinstalled XP on my desktop and then every time I turned on the computer, I had a choice of two XP OS to choose from.
    Someone suggested that I re-install XP again, so I did. Now I have three choices each time I boot up.

    How can I eliminate two of these?

    Thanks

    George
     
    GeorgeLawshe, Oct 21, 2016
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. GeorgeLawshe

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,711
    Likes Received:
    598
    Location:
    Florida
    you are not reinstalling properly, when you install you are given the choice of partitions, you must delete the partitions and then install xp.

    https://www.cnet.com/forums/discussions/two-copies-of-xp-on-system-how-to-remove-240192/

    above thread shows how if the first xp install is the correct one:

    above is a bootloader for single install of xp.

    what does your bootloader look like??

    http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch000647.htm

    read above on the proper way to reinstall xp by going into the bios and setting the cdrom as the boot choice vs the harddrive and going from there.

    you have performed parallel installs not clean installs/
     
    Elizabeth23, Oct 21, 2016
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. GeorgeLawshe

    GeorgeLawshe

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Two XP programs

    Thanks for the help. I had trouble finding the boot.ini file. I made sure all files would show and when I did a search, it did not show the boot.ini file However, I finally looked in the files in C drive and there it was. Still do not understand why it did not show in the search.
    But it fixed my problem, THANKS!!
     
    GeorgeLawshe, Oct 23, 2016
    #3
  4. GeorgeLawshe

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,711
    Likes Received:
    598
    Location:
    Florida
    great, when you have hidden files shown you must also have system files shown.

    [​IMG]

    if you look at the picture, there is a checkmark in the Hide protected operating system files, always uncheck this also when doing a search.
     
    Elizabeth23, Oct 23, 2016
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.