MsHome cannot be accessed.. service has not started.

Discussion in 'Windows XP Networking' started by kirkm, Jul 3, 2018.

  1. kirkm

    kirkm

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm getting this error when I try to Explore MsHome. Usually it shows a list of computers.
    However the mapped networked drives are still present and working ok.

    Can I fix this anyhow? Thanks.
     
    kirkm, Jul 3, 2018
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. kirkm

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,529
    Likes Received:
    229
    Location:
    Florida
    Elizabeth23, Jul 3, 2018
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. kirkm

    kirkm

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for replying. I can't find the entry in Services to confirm if it's on auto.
    Am working through Wunders suggestions but no success yet.
     
    kirkm, Jul 4, 2018
    #3
  4. kirkm

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,529
    Likes Received:
    229
    Location:
    Florida
    Elizabeth23, Jul 4, 2018
    #4
  5. kirkm

    kirkm

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, it is present and showing Started Automatic Local System

    I can also type //compname in to Explorer address bar and get to that location.
     
    kirkm, Jul 4, 2018
    #5
  6. kirkm

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,529
    Likes Received:
    229
    Location:
    Florida
    have the rest of Wunder's instructions helped with the issue?
     
    Elizabeth23, Jul 4, 2018
    #6
  7. kirkm

    kirkm

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not yet Elizabeth. But it's slow going as I'm not very famiiiar with all this. And a bit wary of making this worse.
     
    kirkm, Jul 5, 2018
    #7
  8. kirkm

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,529
    Likes Received:
    229
    Location:
    Florida
    if you have any questions with each step, go ahead and ask before performing, :)
     
    Elizabeth23, Jul 5, 2018
    #8
  9. kirkm

    kirkm

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Elizabeth,

    Details so far

    "Network Location Cannot be Reached" when accessing shares"
    < http://support.microsoft.com/kb/946937 >

    I didn't go further with as I can access shares (and even other computers by following an explorer address path)
    Plus the entries under 'My Network Places' still work. Only MsHome fails

    "Advanced network adapter troubleshooting for Windows workstations"
    < http://support.microsoft.com/kb/325487 >

    I read this at length but it seems to address issues I don't have, e.g. Network adapter , where mine is ok.

    You might try resetting your Winsock Stack:
    "How to reset Internet Protocol (TCP/IP)"
    < http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357 >

    I reasoned If TCPIP was failing the internet wouldn't work.


    And I'm yet to do these 2

    "How to determine and to recover from Winsock2 corruption in Windows Server 2003, in Windows XP, and in Windows Vista"
    < http://support.microsoft.com/kb/811259 >

    You might also try the last-resort freeware program WinsockXPFix:
    < http://www.snapfiles.com/get/winsockxpfix.html >


    I found something in Google that suggested changing a Reg key

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001

    However I don't have this, mine starts at Set 002.

    The full error message is

    Mshome is not accessible. You might not have permission to use this network resource. Contact the administrator of this server to find out if you have access permissions.
    The service has not been started.

    To generate this I Open Entire Network- MicroSoft Windows Network-MsHome
    There's certain delay with the last two, then nothing under MsHome as used to be.
    A that point a left click on MsHome brings up the error.
     
    kirkm, Jul 5, 2018
    #9
  10. kirkm

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,529
    Likes Received:
    229
    Location:
    Florida
    sorry for the late reply, I missed your post.

    your registry should have that listing, Do you have any restore points prior to this issue? I do not use system restore as it is fallible, I use Erunt to back up my registry daily, then I can choose a day and restore the registry.

    so you need to restore the registry till you get that listing back in hklm/system. Barring a restore point you might need to do a clean install.
     
    Elizabeth23, Jul 6, 2018
    #10
  11. kirkm

    kirkm

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did a system restore but it didn't have any effect. I'd like to avoid a clean install, if possible,
    I suppose adding the reg entry manually is not an option?
     
    kirkm, Jul 7, 2018
    #11
  12. kirkm

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,529
    Likes Received:
    229
    Location:
    Florida
    If it is the exact same entry as what is needed. I have attached a .zip file from my registry, but not sure if it will work as I have lots of networking services removed in my services, since I do not have a network. :)
     

    Attached Files:

    Elizabeth23, Jul 7, 2018
    #12
  13. kirkm

    kirkm

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the file. I'm not sure whether to apply it or not. There's a lot of it !
    My thinking is to back up boot drive with Acronis, and restore back if need be.
     
    kirkm, Jul 7, 2018
    #13
  14. kirkm

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,529
    Likes Received:
    229
    Location:
    Florida
    that is KB not MB, :)

    yes, always back up first, you can back up your entire registry with ERUNT, and then if need be restore it back to the same point
     
    Elizabeth23, Jul 7, 2018
    #14
  15. kirkm

    kirkm

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Elizabeth, just wanted to thank you for your help with this - and let you know it's a failure. Can't get this working for love or money! I also
    restored a HDD backup from Nov 2017 and guess what - the problem remains. So it defies all logic I know and will just have
    to accept mshome is kaput and hope I can still do everything I want.
    I did find something on another forum referencing the same error message, but just one thread and a few years old.. left a msg but it's a long shot.
     
    kirkm, Jul 8, 2018
    #15
  16. kirkm

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,529
    Likes Received:
    229
    Location:
    Florida
    according to here, it might be the .dll file, I have uploaded mine from xp pro in a zip file for you , extract it and place in system32 folder and then reboot see if issue persists. it seems that even though your server service shows started it is not starting. I am at a loss for further help, if you do not wish to reinstall xp, you will have to do some more googling, HERE is where I searched for "server service not started"
     

    Attached Files:

    Elizabeth23, Jul 8, 2018
    #16
  17. kirkm

    kirkm

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Elizabeth, just in case you wanted a follow up - I put together a 2nd XP machine just to compare Net type things. After I enabled file sharing in one of its
    folders I found MSHOME had suddenly kicked back into life on the problem machine. All I can guess is a new device on the LAN started whatever had/hadn't stopped. Beats me but not complaining! And thanks again for your help.
     
    kirkm, Aug 5, 2018
    #17
  18. kirkm

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,529
    Likes Received:
    229
    Location:
    Florida
    great work on fixing your issue, :)
     
    Elizabeth23, Aug 5, 2018
    #18
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.