Legaly buy and/or activate windows xp in 2018

Discussion in 'Windows XP Installation and Setup' started by Micik, Apr 8, 2018.

  1. Micik

    Micik

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hello guys,

    I have a computer with windows XP pro sp2 as OS and with some software installed on t that can only work in Windows XP.
    I have used this computer for more than ten years now. Recently his computer start dying. It is Fujitsu workstation and it has OEM windows licence. The computer have been repaired couple of times but this time it seems that final end is very close.

    One of the options is to virtualize this computer and to move it as virtual machine on a new hardware. I tried to do that and as expected, windows is not activated any more since it noticed that hardware is changed. Sine OEM licence is tied to the HW, I wonder how can I legally activate windows XP on a virtual machine?

    I don't want to reinstall windows from scratch since I don't have all installations disks any more for application software.
    Is it possible now to buy activation from Microsoft in 2018?

    Thank you!
     
    Micik, Apr 8, 2018
    #1
    jim davis likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  2. Micik

    jim davis

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2017
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    24
    There are folks here who can help you with this, I can't, but hang in there.

    my xp has slowed to tar in January and i am looking to fix, Ms. Elizabeth here, sent me to a site to re download from fresh but it was all in geekinese and i walked, I will try to find her reply, and post, but i find the personal page here hades to do anything on so you may have to wait for her to chime in,
    the jackashe at computer store looks at me like I have a disease when I ask for help keeping XP afloat, the guys a real geek fashion twit.
     
    jim davis, Apr 10, 2018
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Micik

    jim davis

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2017
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    24
    UPDATE

    I can't find a list of all my posts anywhere, liz answered this to me somewhere
    but my personal page is too geeked for me to find it.
     
    jim davis, Apr 10, 2018
    #3
  4. Micik

    jim davis

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2017
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    24
    OK,,,,, TO FIND OLD POSTS YOU CLICK ON YOUR NAME and they will show up
    in a few different categories, this is what Elizabeth posted to me, and please let me know how it worked for you here.

    I never understood the answer, which is nothing new, and not lizs fault,

    and i may be wrong, but think this was same problem

    mean while I am sure more help is on the way here for your question

    liz said---


    yes as long as it is an oem disk such as a dell disk for a dell pc,

    https://forums.mydigitallife.net/forums/windows-xp-older-os.5/

    you can register at the above forum and there should be links to download an iso for your particular xp
     
    jim davis, Apr 10, 2018
    #4
  5. Micik

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,419
    Likes Received:
    175
    Location:
    Florida
  6. Micik

    Sean

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2018
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    There are two windows XP Sp3 ISOs , both pop up on google that aren't oem - just retail installs already activated and with SP3 and include AHCI support
     
    Sean, Apr 19, 2018
    #6
  7. Micik

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,419
    Likes Received:
    175
    Location:
    Florida
    and the question? I am not sure dell put out a sp3 install disk, my own is sp2, but I slipstreamed sp3 onto it.
     
    Elizabeth23, Apr 19, 2018
    #7
  8. Micik

    Sean

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2018
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sean, Apr 19, 2018
    #8
  9. Micik

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,419
    Likes Received:
    175
    Location:
    Florida
    you can install a retail version on a dell, you will still need a valid product key.
     
    Elizabeth23, Apr 19, 2018
    #9
  10. Micik

    Sean

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2018
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not for the two that i found , unless i am mistaken they were already activated. That's what the new install on the computer in my thread is, never asked for a product key and and started updating as soon as it was installed. i'm not sure about the feeling of abandonware here but i beleive that is the persons case who made the installs.

    If not against the rules i will post a link to it, but want to make sure its ok.
     
    Sean, Apr 19, 2018
    #10
  11. Micik

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,419
    Likes Received:
    175
    Location:
    Florida
    go ahead and post link, I have posted links to downloads of iso files
     
    Elizabeth23, Apr 21, 2018
    #11
  12. Micik

    Sean

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2018
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sean, Apr 23, 2018
    #12
  13. Micik

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,419
    Likes Received:
    175
    Location:
    Florida
    it is great that you have the iso, now do not lose it, :)
     
    Elizabeth23, Apr 23, 2018
    #13
  14. Micik

    Micik

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thank you for your advices. Unfortunately, I wan't able to solve the problem, because I don't want to reinstall windows because there are some application software I need to keep. That is why I wonder if it is possible only to buy activation for existing setup on virtual machine.
     
    Micik, May 7, 2018
    #14
  15. Micik

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,419
    Likes Received:
    175
    Location:
    Florida
    can you download the software to install again? or do you have the install cds?
     
    Elizabeth23, May 7, 2018
    #15
  16. Micik

    Micik

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    No, I'm afraid not, All I have is norton ghost image with boot floppy disk :).
    When I try to restore NG image to a virtual machine I end up with famous BSOD.
    So I used VM converter on original machine (that is failing - frequent hang, BSOD and similar) and open this VM on new computer with Windows 7 pro. Of course, win XP inside VM asks for activation.
    Interesting I have Windows COA sticker, but that doesn't help, since product ID contains OEM and I have found that OEM version are tied with HW. When HW fails then software is also gone.

    There are some workarounds playing with registry, but I was thinking if there is a possibility to activate legaly. Maybe to buy another win 7 licence and then ask for downgrade, but without installation or re installation.

    P.S. Trying to activate windows via Internet ends up with error 32781
     
    Micik, May 7, 2018
    #16
  17. Micik

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,419
    Likes Received:
    175
    Location:
    Florida
    If you purchase a VL license for it (which would be a currently supported license with downgrade rights) and you virtualize the OEM version, it usually does not matter during an audit. You just have to be able to provide proof of the VL purchase, which they will have once you provide the VLSC ID to the auditor.

    At least, that has been the accepted policy during all of my audits.

    above comes from HERE , so you just have to purchase a virtual license , read the thread to get a general idea

    attached is a zip file with a .pdf for microsoft licensing for virtualization
     

    Attached Files:

    Elizabeth23, May 7, 2018
    #17
  18. Micik

    Micik

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thank you!
     
    Micik, May 7, 2018
    #18
  19. Micik

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,419
    Likes Received:
    175
    Location:
    Florida
    hope it helps, :)
     
    Elizabeth23, May 7, 2018
    #19
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.