Internet Issues

Discussion in 'Windows XP Help and Support' started by Lewis, Oct 5, 2017.

  1. Lewis

    Lewis

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I was recently given a Windows XP professional laptop (fresh install, but the laptop is a good 10 years old) and I've been using it for work and everything.

    There is a little problem though, for some reason some programs fail to start because of a connection issue, like I can't load any HTTPS secured www.microsoft.com page, but I can access some other HTTPS pages.

    Skype doesn't login, it says ''Sometimes the internet gets a bit sleepy and takes a nap. Make sure its up and running then we'll give it another go.''

    I also can't use the Windows Update feature in Windows because there is apparently so internet..

    I am sure that the internet is working but it's not good enough for these programs to work, any ideas?
     
    Lewis, Oct 5, 2017
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Lewis

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Florida
    you should use the firefox version 52.4.0 ESR for firefox as that is the only browser supporting xp at this time.

    internet explorer 8 is the last browser for xp and should only be used for microsoft updates, which will only work with sp3 and ie8 installed, is your pc a 32bit or a 64bit?

    you can tell by going to start/right click on My Computer/ choose properties, and on the general tab if you do not see 64 anywhere then you have a 32bit (64bit stops at sp2 and 32bit stops at sp3)

    under the optional updates at microsoft updates is a skype update for xp

    so what service pack do you have installed and what version of IE?
     
    Elizabeth23, Oct 5, 2017
    #2
    Lewis likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  3. Lewis

    Lewis

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Elizabeth23,

    It is a 32 bit operating system, and has Service Pack 3 install with Internet Explorer 8.

    Also the skype actually came from that update I had installed, but because of these internet issues it's not signing in.
     
    Lewis, Oct 6, 2017
    #3
  4. Lewis

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Florida
    Skype for Windows Desktop

    Version

    Windows 10
    Windows 8.1
    Windows 8
    Windows 7 (32-bit and 64 bit versions supported) - see note below
    Windows Vista
    Windows XP SP3 (32-bit and 64 bit versions supported) - see note below

    Processor

    At least 1 GHz

    RAM

    At least 512 MB

    Additional software

    DirectX v9.0 or higher


    Notes:
    • If you're using Windows 7 (SP1), upgrade your Internet Explorer to v11.
    • If you're using Windows XP SP3, make sure you're using Internet Explorer 8 or higher.
    do you have the requirements above, for skype??

    =============

    go to start/control panel/ network connections/ choose your connection and right click on it and choose repair, does the dialog complete or does it hang up at any point??

    =============

    check event viewer, are there any error messages about this issue??
    if so I need the source and the event ID.

     
    Elizabeth23, Oct 7, 2017
    #4
  5. Lewis

    Lewis

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Elizabeth23,

    Yes I meet the requirements above.

    The dialog completes, it just disconnects and reconnects the internet, I know the internet does work it just don't work properly, even if I use Ethernet.

    And I don't see anything about the issue flag up in Event Viewer.
     
    Lewis, Oct 7, 2017
    #5
  6. Lewis

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Florida
    1. use a new ethernet cable
    2. if using wifi, try moving the pc to a different location in the house
    3. uninstall and reinstall your network adapters
    4. examine your firewall settings
    5. run a malware scan with malwarebytes free
    6. what is your antivirus??
    7. have your ip check their end to see if you need a new router
     
    Elizabeth23, Oct 7, 2017
    #6
  7. Lewis

    Lewis

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    1. It was a new Ethernet cable.
    2. I've sat it near the router, hasn't worked.
    3. Network drivers are fine, it's a fresh install of the whole thing.
    4. Firewall looks okay, I've disabled it and tried, no luck.
    5. Scanned the entire system with MSE.
    6. Microsoft Security Essentials (came with it)
    7. ? I'm living with my parents, it's a Virgin Media fibre optic router, it's actually not that old.
     
    Lewis, Oct 7, 2017
    #7
  8. Lewis

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Florida
    mse no longer supports xp

    and also download, install and run a full scan with malwarebytes free from the link in my previous reply.

    =============

    HERE is the search page for intermittent internet connection problems, read through several threads to see if a possible solution presents itself, come back with any questions and you need a viable antivirus installed, I use 360 total security esstentials by Qihoo.

    https://www.360totalsecurity.com/en/features/360-total-security-essential/

    you should download the full package and the virus database (located at the green button to the lower right of above page, and you only need to download AVIRA as bitdefender comes with the complete full package, then disconnect from internet and install offline, install database and then run a scan before going online.
     
    Elizabeth23, Oct 7, 2017
    #8
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.