Installing Service Pack 3

Discussion in 'Windows XP Installation and Setup' started by Cecil Fox, Oct 16, 2017.

  1. Cecil Fox

    Cecil Fox

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have completed and validated a clean reinstall of XP with SP2. (The XP disc came with the computer many years ago) Have downloaded (not available from Microsoft) Service Pack 3 Setup and been greeted with:- "Service Pack 3 cannot update a checked (debug) system with a free (retail) version of Service Pack 3,or vice versa." Help would be much appreciated.
     
    Cecil Fox, Oct 16, 2017
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Cecil Fox

    priscus

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2016
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    20
    1. Advertisements

  3. Cecil Fox

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,678
    Likes Received:
    282
    Location:
    Florida
    Elizabeth23, Oct 16, 2017
    #3
  4. Cecil Fox

    Cecil Fox

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0

    Many thanks for replies which enabled me to jnstall SP3
     
    Cecil Fox, Oct 17, 2017
    #4
  5. Cecil Fox

    Baldrick

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Elizabeth

    Can I apply the upgrade WindowsXP-KB936929-SP3-x86-ENU.exe immediately after reinstalling Windows XP Home SP2 from my machine's original "Already Installed On Your Computer" disk? I don't have access to the internet since my reinstall.

    Regards
     
    Baldrick, Mar 7, 2018
    #5
  6. Cecil Fox

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,678
    Likes Received:
    282
    Location:
    Florida
    anything you want to install can be downloaded to a flash drive from a working pc, and then carried over to the non working pc, and installed.

    in order to get to microsoft updates, you need sp3 and ie8, which you can get from my onedrive also, and you will most likely need the ethernet driver for your pc

    what is the make, model, and model number of your pc,
    32bit or 64bit
     
    Elizabeth23, Mar 8, 2018
    #6
  7. Cecil Fox

    Baldrick

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    I thought SP3 the upgrade might need a larger file hence my question.

    I have a Dell Dimension 3000 32bit machine using a 3Com USB Wireless Adapter to access my Router. Internet access worked before the XP reinstall but I hadn't considered IE8. It currently has the default IE6 which didn't inhibit getting onto the 'net last time I reinstalled XP.

    (I'm thinking of starting a new thread regarding my access problems alongside this to see if anyone recognises it.)

    Many thanks for your assistance.
     
    Baldrick, Mar 9, 2018
    #7
  8. Cecil Fox

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,678
    Likes Received:
    282
    Location:
    Florida
    you can install an ethernet driver to get online through a lan. you could possibly get online with ie6, but it is very insecure, when I do a reinstall, the first thing I do after installing offline all I want installed , is go to microsoft updates and get all the updates that I need. I download firefox esr and use that to get online, but only after I have gone through microsoft updates.

    you need to get the drivers HERE and there is a certain order to install drivers on a dell see THIS article

    a genuine sp3 is 316MB

    https://onedrive.live.com/?id=D7389B68B3A275AD!834&cid=D7389B68B3A275AD

    on my one drive above you need ie8, sp3 and the 4.5 version of the installer, that is the latest installer for xp. and you could also download all the ie8 updates and install individually. I like to do this before going online.
     
    Elizabeth23, Mar 9, 2018
    #8
  9. Cecil Fox

    Baldrick

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    many thanks for those links and guidance, Elizabeth
     
    Baldrick, Mar 9, 2018
    #9
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.