I thought the Core2Duo and Core2Quad CPUs are 64bit

Discussion in 'Windows XP General Discussion' started by Sixthofmay, Feb 9, 2020.

  1. Sixthofmay

    Sixthofmay

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2018
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Tampa, Florida, USA
    I thought the Core2Duo and Core2Quad CPUs are 64bit, yet I have programs that will not install on XP, but install on Windows 7 64bit. Most machines I have use the Core2Duo or Quad, or I3, I5, I7.
     
    Sixthofmay, Feb 9, 2020
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Sixthofmay

    secpar

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2020
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Certain things just will not run on XP, regardless of processor. This depends on the software developer, not necessarily the hardware.
     
    secpar, Feb 10, 2020
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Sixthofmay

    flavallee

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2020
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Hillsborough county, Florida
    The Intel Core 2 Duo and Intel Core 2 Quad legacy processors do have a 64-bit architecture.

    I have a Windows XP Pro SP3 32-bit computer that I've been using for testing purposes for a long time.

    More and more third-party apps keep dropping support for and will no longer install in Windows XP.

    Some third-party apps also have separate install files for 32-bit(x86) and 64-bit(x64), so make sure you select the correct one to install.
     
    flavallee, Feb 24, 2020
    #3
  4. Sixthofmay

    Mike_Walsh

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2016
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    King's Lynn, UK.
    Nice to see ya here, Frank.....


    Mike. ;)
     
    Mike_Walsh, Feb 25, 2020
    #4
  5. Sixthofmay

    flavallee

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2020
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Hillsborough county, Florida
    I decided to expand my horizon. ;)
     
    flavallee, Feb 25, 2020
    #5
  6. Sixthofmay

    Mike_Walsh

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2016
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    King's Lynn, UK.
    Well, the guys here will benefit enormously from your extensive experience with XP, so I'm sure they'll appreciate that. I hang around here more for the 'crack', and nostalgia's sake, than anything else, though I do try to give advice where I'm still able to.

    I used to use it a lot, but as you know, I switched to Linux shortly after EOL. Some of the guys here do seem to be aware that it's no longer really 'safe', and run Linux themselves; others seem grimly determined to hang onto a desperately out-of-date 'legacy' OS. They're a pretty ingenious bunch, though; I will give 'em that!

    There's not much they don't seem to be able to solve, or find a workaround for....

    A belated 'Welcome' to the Forum, BTW. :)


    Mike. ;)
     
    Mike_Walsh, Feb 29, 2020
    #6
  7. Sixthofmay

    flavallee

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2020
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Hillsborough county, Florida
    Thanks, Mike.
    I use Windows XP Pro SP3 32-bit only for testing purposes, so I run it and update its still-supported apps about once a month.
    My install disc is fully patched to the unofficial April 2019 "end of life" date, so that greatly shortens the time to install and update it.
    Frank :)
     
    flavallee, Feb 29, 2020
    #7
  8. Sixthofmay

    trimis

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    132
    Both are 64-bit, but you also need a 64-bit version of XP or XP Pro...if you have that, then something is fishy, as you should be able to run any 64-bit software that is compatible with Windows XP.
     
    trimis, Apr 9, 2020
    #8
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.