How to retask audio jacks dell inspiron 640m

Discussion in 'Windows XP Hardware' started by Gilder0y, Aug 23, 2013.

  1. Gilder0y

    Gilder0y

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did a factory restore of my dell inspiron 640m which runs win xp, and the headphone jack is still dead. the speakers on the laptop work fine. The sound card is SigmaTel STAC9200 I tried to set the headphones as the default in the control panel, but they don't show up, just sigmatel audio.

    Since the inspiron 640m supports universal jacks, i'd like to remap the headphone jack with the mic jack because the mic jack still works. anyone know how to do this in the registry?

    Been trying to do this for days with no avail
    Thanks in advance for your help :)
     
    Gilder0y, Aug 23, 2013
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Gilder0y

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,949
    Likes Received:
    363
    Location:
    Florida
    Elizabeth23, Aug 23, 2013
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Gilder0y

    Gilder0y

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    my computer doesn't have realtek or realtek audio manager. it has a sigmatel, totally different card as from what i can see.

    also, i know for sure my audio jack doesn't work...the question is how to remap it in win xp registry.

    also, your second link is not functioning :(

    actually i know search engines are my friend as i looked into the link you sent me earlier...it does not pertain to my question actually maybe you should read my question a little deeper before you respond to it.

    so sorry to be rude ...
     
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2013
    Gilder0y, Aug 23, 2013
    #3
  4. Gilder0y

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,949
    Likes Received:
    363
    Location:
    Florida
    I know that you do not have realtek, but I had wanted you to read the thread and see if the steps would show you if you have the retasking capability on your card, the steps will work on any card, just that you may not have this capability with your card, follow the steps to check.

    the second link works for me, not sure why it does not for you.
     
    Elizabeth23, Aug 23, 2013
    #4
  5. Gilder0y

    Gilder0y

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok, there, that 2nd link works now.

    i visited that page and i think that it is not a failed sense pin because the speakers in the laptop are still functional.

    as far as the first link is concerned, as i don't have a realtek i wouldn't have the software (realtek audio manager) that comes with that, so that link is not too too helpful.

    i do know that this computer, like i said in first post, is audio jack remappable, because i read it in the user's manual. i can show this to you if you want, or you can just believe me.

    like i said its just a matter of messing with the registry but i don't know where the audio jacks are located and how to change them.
    the registry location that i found for the pin keys is
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\Class\{4D36E96C-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}\0005\Settings\pin

    in the pin directory there are like 8 or 10 keys, all labeled as numbers such as 10 or 08
    and a few that are 0 then a letter such as 0e.
    i have no idea what to do from there
     
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2013
    Gilder0y, Aug 23, 2013
    #5
  6. Gilder0y

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,949
    Likes Received:
    363
    Location:
    Florida
    Elizabeth23, Aug 23, 2013
    #6
  7. Gilder0y

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,949
    Likes Received:
    363
    Location:
    Florida
    Elizabeth23, Aug 23, 2013
    #7
  8. Gilder0y

    Gilder0y

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    no, that guide did not help. it makes no mention of audio retasking
     
    Gilder0y, Aug 23, 2013
    #8
  9. Gilder0y

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,949
    Likes Received:
    363
    Location:
    Florida
    I have seen your posts in various forums, if you find a solution please post here. I have not found one yet.
     
    Elizabeth23, Aug 23, 2013
    #9
  10. Gilder0y

    Gilder0y

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    i saw some registry edits for vista and 7, just not for xp though
     
    Gilder0y, Aug 23, 2013
    #10
  11. Gilder0y

    Gilder0y

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gilder0y, Aug 23, 2013
    #11
  12. Gilder0y

    Gilder0y

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    no, sorry, this is not it
     
    Gilder0y, Aug 23, 2013
    #12
  13. Gilder0y

    Gilder0y

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    i think i sort of found a fix....if i reboot my computer and keep my rca cable unplugged until everything has booted up and i'm in windows, then the jack will work. :D

    i'm still curious about the mapping, as it is probably a more permanent fix, but this is pretty good.
     
    Gilder0y, Aug 23, 2013
    #13
  14. Gilder0y

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,949
    Likes Received:
    363
    Location:
    Florida
    Glad you found a solution, you might want to ask in the TechNet forums or at your soundcard manufacturer's forum for a more detailed solution. :)
     
    Elizabeth23, Aug 24, 2013
    #14
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.